4 out of 5 dentists recommend this WordPress.com site

We’re Americans First

I'm An American

The election is over. We have our 45th president and his name is Donald Trump. I will start out by saying, I didn’t vote for him and nor did I vote for Hillary Clinton. (I voted Independent for the presidential candidate.) Not that I generally make it known who I vote for in any election, but I wanted to make it clear here that while I didn’t vote for Trump, I have accepted the election results. I think it is time the rest of the country follow suit.

I am seeing horrible things on the news, in the papers, and on social media in response to the election. Many of the people rioting, participating in violent acts in protest, bashing anyone who voted for Trump, and so on are also those who claim they want to see positive changes in this country. Those changes start with us. If we want to see America become great again, then we need to begin by doing some personal reflection and make the changes within ourselves.

Spreading hate is not helping, it is only making things worse. What are we teaching our children? It is okay to be unhappy with the results if you truly feel that Trump isn’t the man who should be running our country, but it is not okay to protest in such ways that elicits violence and cruelty towards others. The best thing any of us can do is accept the results, make the best of it, and be the changes we want to see in America. Bashing one another and rioting will not change the outcome, it will not suddenly make Hillary our president. How many people heard Hillary’s concession speech? How many people heard what Obama had to say? Neither of them are happy about the election results, but they are behaving like mature adults, at least on camera. 😉

We don’t have to like the results, but reacting in the ways that many have been doing is only fueling the hatred that’s already too powerful. Kids are being bullied at school over this, friendships are dissolving, families are at war with one another, and this country is divided by yet another thing. It is really sad. Just because someone voted for Trump or Clinton doesn’t mean they embody what we don’t like about the candidates. The people we love are still the same people. They didn’t suddenly change and become racist, immoral, or indecent. Remember who we are at the core and don’t let this change how we view one another. Now is the time to come together, not grow further apart. We already have enough issues, sure don’t need to add more.

I would also like to point out something else. Many have been focusing on solely the presidential candidates and have forgotten about their local governments, which controls much of what goes on in our day to day lives, what happens in our communities. We should not neglect our duty to support our local governments. Do the research, learn what our local politicians truly stand for, and vote. These elections happen more often than every four years too, know what’s going on in your communities and be a voice for hope and positive change. Our aldermen, sheriffs, judges, mayors, etc are elected by us too, shouldn’t we know who sits in those positions of authority and power?

We are a country that is all too often divided. Republicans v.s. Democrats, Packers fans v.s. Bears fans, white v.s. black, rich v.s. poor, Christians v.s. just about any other religion, gays v.s. straight, and so on. I would like to point something out, we’re Americans first. I heard the speech President Obama gave yesterday and agreed with many key points. I was never a huge fan of his, but I have to give credit for how he has handled the election results. His speech really got to me. I would credit it as one of the greatest accomplishments of his presidency. It may sound silly, but honestly, his reaction to Trump being elected says something about him. How you transition from your position of power says a lot about one’s character. I think that phrase he uttered was what hit me the most. It is something we all need to remember. No matter where we’re from, what our background is, what color our skin is, what we believe in or don’t for the matter, what our sexual orientation is, or anything else that could divide us, WE ARE AMERICANS FIRST! Let that sink in and let us find our way back to being a country that’s united.

Leave a Reply

Moosmosis

Exploring an Arts & Sciences Education

Diary of a Little Peach

Parenting tips, product reviews, recipes, stories, and more.

Cooking with a Wallflower

Cooking. Baking. Crafting. Writing.

ANIKET SHARMA PHOTOGRAPHY

World through my lens

D-pad Joy

PS4, XBO, Switch and PC news, reviews, indie games and developers

bipolarbree1

My life with Bipolar, anxiety, and addictions

Life, Love, Poetry, & Other Randomness

4 out of 5 dentists recommend this WordPress.com site

The Diary Of A Muslim Girl

Dare ◦ To ◦ Live ◦ Your ◦ Legacy

Anish Oza

Writes

I Suck at Marriage

I wonder who doesn't suck at marriage on some level...

The Anonymous Writer's Notebook

Create, Share, Inspire

The Diary of a Bee

With brave wings, she flies.

18Megapixel

© Michael Soriano Photography

POETRY PASSION

AN AWESOME SOURCE OF ROMANTIC POETRY

Mona_Khaan

tha blogs is about styles beauty health true story's love poetry many more )): my blog my own thoughts) monakhaan.com

420 ways to reach the sun

let the conversation begin.

Quill & Parchment

I Solemnly Swear I Am Up To No Good

CrazyRedders.com

CrazyRedders

Ricardo Sexton

.Welcome to my Metaphors.

Mr. Bill's Travel Blog

Amputee Travel... let the adventures begin!

simple Ula

I want to be rich. Rich in love, rich in health, rich in laughter, rich in adventure and rich in knowledge. You?

dontgiveajamdotcom.wordpress.com/

a word girl w/a lifestyle blog | new posts M • W • F

Let's get talking

about.just.anything

Dee Gratitude

"Everything Will Be All Righ..."

Alif Satria

GOOD LIFE OR BAD LIFE IS YOUR CHOICE

Education Rickshaw

International Teaching in Motion

Urban Poetry

She's an Urban Pen spilling ink in inspiration and words.. A Digital Art & Poetry Wordpress By Linda J. Wolff

Kuddos and Kiddos

Taking SAHM life, one day at a time.

Little Fears

Tales of whimsy, humour and courgettes

natureplayhk.wordpress.com/

We connect your child with nature

Life with Tranquility...!

Live Life with Tranquility of Life...!

Rooting for Forever

You found parts of me I didn't know existed and in you I found a love I no longer believed was real

Rules of Knowledge

Purveyor of Ideas

