4 out of 5 dentists recommend this WordPress.com site

Definitions Change

fun

It’s 10:00 p.m. and I’m just about ready to go

My friends should be there by the time I arrive

It’s just a typical Wednesday night

The beer is 25 cents a glass, though I drink whiskey sours

Let’s dance until close, laughing and flirting the night away

 

It’s 7:30 a.m. and I’m finally going to sleep

I wake up at Noon and I’m slow to start my day

We often talk about changing how we live

But day after day, it’s the same routine

No responsibilities, so carefree and living la vida loca

 

Fast forward to today, many years later

My how life has changed

The time I used to go to bed is now the time I get up

My little girl needs to be changed and fed

It’s time for Disney, learning, and baby talk

 

We get invited to shows, parties, and other nightlife events

Most times, we decline and stay home

And most of those resounding no’s are said without regret

Some think we’ve lost our edge

Because we now prefer family nights over partying

 

But though we’ve gone from drinking on weeknights

To nightly walks with our baby and game nights with my 13 year old

That doesn’t mean we forgot how to have fun

It simply means that our definition of the word has changed

And truthfully, I don’t think there’s anything wrong with that.

 

Terry, I was inspired by your post today! 🙂 Thank you for your inspiration! Readers, you should check out his page here: https://terry1954.wordpress.com/

 

 

Comments on: "Definitions Change" (16)

  1. When we look back at our lives, we could not imagine our lives changing to where we are today. So many paths to decide on. Children make a vast difference on our maturity and thinking. I loved what you wrote and thank you for being an important factor for my day going better. Hugs

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Plus ça change … but I’m a man … I can change … if I have to … nice post.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Geoff with a G said:

    I think we lead very similar lives. A peculiar phenomenon I also find myself in is that all my single, unmarried friends have fallen off the face of the earth. It must have been hard to relate when the rest of the group now has kids.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yeah, we face the same thing. Even the couples we’re friends with that don’t have kids are still leading busy social lives. The kids factor is a bit much for some and to an extent, I get it. Admittedly, it does hurt though. I wouldn’t trade the life I have for my old one. I love being Mom and a wife to my amazing husband. They’re greatest blessings in my life. But, I’d be lying if I said friends growing apart doesn’t break my heart.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Moosmosis

Exploring an Arts & Sciences Education

Diary of a Little Peach

Parenting tips, product reviews, recipes, stories, and more.

Cooking with a Wallflower

Cooking. Baking. Crafting. Writing.

ANIKET SHARMA PHOTOGRAPHY

World through my lens

D-pad Joy

PS4, XBO, Switch and PC news, reviews, indie games and developers

bipolarbree1

My life with Bipolar, anxiety, and addictions

Life, Love, Poetry, & Other Randomness

4 out of 5 dentists recommend this WordPress.com site

The Diary Of A Muslim Girl

Dare ◦ To ◦ Live ◦ Your ◦ Legacy

Anish Oza

Writes

I Suck at Marriage

I wonder who doesn't suck at marriage on some level...

The Anonymous Writer's Notebook

Create, Share, Inspire

The Diary of a Bee

With brave wings, she flies.

18Megapixel

© Michael Soriano Photography

POETRY PASSION

AN AWESOME SOURCE OF ROMANTIC POETRY

Mona_Khaan

tha blogs is about styles beauty health true story's love poetry many more )): my blog my own thoughts) monakhaan.com

420 ways to reach the sun

let the conversation begin.

Quill & Parchment

I Solemnly Swear I Am Up To No Good

CrazyRedders.com

CrazyRedders

Ricardo Sexton

.Welcome to my Metaphors.

Mr. Bill's Travel Blog

Amputee Travel... let the adventures begin!

simple Ula

I want to be rich. Rich in love, rich in health, rich in laughter, rich in adventure and rich in knowledge. You?

dontgiveajamdotcom.wordpress.com/

a word girl w/ a lifestyle blog | new posts M • W • F

Let's get talking

about.just.anything

Dee Gratitude

"Everything Will Be All Righ..."

Alif Satria

GOOD LIFE OR BAD LIFE IS YOUR CHOICE

Education Rickshaw

International Teaching in Motion

Urban Poetry

She's an Urban Pen spilling ink in inspiration and words.. A Digital Art & Poetry Wordpress By Linda J. Wolff

Kuddos and Kiddos

Taking SAHM life, one day at a time.

Little Fears

Tales of whimsy, humour and courgettes

natureplayhk.wordpress.com/

We connect your child with nature

Life with Tranquility...!

Live Life with Tranquility of Life...!

Rooting for Forever

You found parts of me I didn't know existed and in you I found a love I no longer believed was real

Rules of Knowledge

Purveyor of Ideas

