4 out of 5 dentists recommend this WordPress.com site

Grief

Some try to put a time limit on how long one is supposed to grieve the loss of a loved one. But, after having lost so many in my life, I have come to realize that there’s just no set time limit when one should be done hurting.

On May 2nd, 2016, a friend of 21 years passed away. She’d been hospitalized due to an error during multiple surgeries she was having done. For weeks, she lay in a medically induced coma and the prognosis was pretty bad for some time. Then, she began to improve and there was hope for all who had been worried. She woke up, was breathing on her own, and getting some of her spunk back.

But, then shock hit many of us on the morning of May 2nd. I checked my Facebook and saw a status about my friend passing away early that morning. My heart broke in a way it never had before. I’d lost family and friends, but no one I’d had quite the connection with like I did with her. She was once my family, when married to my cousin. That was how we’d met. We’d formed such a bond that even after she and my cousin divorced, her and I were still close. There was a time when we shared everything. She was my best friend for a long time. We hadn’t been super close in awhile, but we’d been reconnecting.

I still feel like she’s here with us sometimes, like she’s not really gone. It doesn’t help when I see her Facebook profile connected. But, it’s so much more than that. I try not to get super upset. I believe she’d want us all to keep living and loving. I feel that she’d understand remembering her and missing her, but that she wouldn’t want us to be frozen in sadness. She wouldn’t want us so paralyzed by our grief that we forgot how to live.

I believe that it is up to the living to honor the dead by continuing to live. We should keep their legacies alive by telling others about them and their lives. And too, what better way to honor them than by living in such a way that would make them proud? Grief can do so much damage and it can be life changing. But as hard as it might be to keep going some days, I believe that it is imperative that we do our best to try.

So, to my grandparents, uncles, aunts, cousins, in-laws, and friends that I have lost: I miss you, so very much. A part of me died with you when you left. But, I am committed to living the best possible life that I can while I am being given that chance, to loving those who are still here. May I honor your memories, may I make you proud by living in such a way that would make you smile. I love you, more than you know and I always will. May that advice be something you take heart to and find ways to follow and may I do the same, remembering on tough days that I need to keep going. Let us not allow grief to overtake us, but let love instead ever propel us forward.

Comments on: "Grief Doesn’t Have a Time Limit" (8)

  1. Kate Herron said:

    I love this. I’m learning to accept dads passing and it’s not easy. It had taken a toll on me mentally and physically. I know I just have to be patient.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Cousin, be kind and patient with your heart. And do lean on us, your family, when you’re having a rough day. This is what family does, lift one another up. Your grief is still fairly new. A part of you will grieve forever, but keep pushing forward. We’ll help you through, remind you why life is worth living and how much you’re loved. Your dad is proud of you, know that, as we all are. I love you.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I am truly sorry for your loss. I myself have lost people and I could relate to the pain. But, the golden words in the end are the key to life.. Let us not allow grief to overtake us, but let love instead ever propel us forward. Well said. Stay blessed

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Geoff with a G said:

    Sorry for your loss. I am bracing myself for these feelings because of a relative who only has a few days left.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Floating Speck said:

    Hi ! I just accepted my first award and I am nominating you I think your blog is amazing !

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

FAITH

juggling college and professionalism one article at a time

o l i t a

place of all things lovely, by ola masalska

Kirsten Hartman

Fashion, Beauty, Lifestyle

Finding Beauty Middle East

Beauty - Lifestyle - Dining

RyanPhotography

..... Images by Bren and Ashley Ryan

Evelina

by Evelina Di Lauro

Messy Mapmaker

Searching Through the Pile of To-Do Lists to See What's Coming Next

Sunshine

Courage In Living

paperlanternsinpapertown

Heart only speaks when mind shut down πŸ’˜πŸ’˜πŸ’˜πŸ˜ŠπŸ˜ŠπŸ˜Š

Hello Foxy

A Lifestyle Blog For Badass Babes

TheKushOfficial

Thoughts Explorer

Pocketful of Smiles

Lifestyle Blog

Aching and Hold on Tight

I dont know how to do this

Sketch.urself

U dont have to be a good artist to sketch urselfπŸ˜‰βœŒ

Moosmosis

Exploring an Arts & Sciences Education

Diary of a Little Peach

Parenting tips, product reviews, recipes, stories, and more.

Cooking with a Wallflower

Cooking. Baking. Crafting. Writing.

ANIKET SHARMA PHOTOGRAPHY

World through my lens

D-pad Joy

PS4, XBO, Switch, PC and Mobile news, reviews, indie games and developers

bipolarbree1

It's Okay, not to be Okay!

Life, Love, Poetry, & Other Randomness

4 out of 5 dentists recommend this WordPress.com site

The Diary Of A Muslim Girl

Dare β—¦ To β—¦ Live β—¦ Your β—¦ Legacy

Anish Oza

Writes

I Suck at Marriage

I wonder who doesn't suck at marriage on some level...

The Anonymous Writer's Notebook

Create, Share, Inspire

The Diary of a Bee

Your wandering diary.

18Megapixel

Β© Michael Soriano Photography

POETRY PASSION

A PLACE FOR PROFESSIONAL & PASSIONATE POETS

MonaKhaan

tha blogs is about styles beauty health true story's love poetry many more )): my blog my own thoughts) monakhaan.com

420 ways to reach the sun

let the conversation begin.

Quill & Parchment

I Solemnly Swear I Am Up To No Good

CrazyRedders.com

CrazyRedders

