4 out of 5 dentists recommend this WordPress.com site

Yes, No, Maybe So

god-says-no(pp_w661_h440)

How many of us have tried to bargain with God?

“Dear God, there’s this guy that I love and if you make it so we end up together, I won’t ask for anything ever again.”

“God, I have this important job interview tomorrow. If you help me get the job, I’ll get better at going to church.”

“Lord, if you heal my mom, I promise I’ll be a better person. I’ll do whatever you ask, just do this for me please!”

I’ve prayed a prayer or two like these myself. Inevitably, I didn’t get my way most of the time. I usually felt like He either blatantly ignored me or just outright said no. I would often feel slighted, thinking things like,

“If you loved me, then why did you ignore me?”

“I thought you wanted me to be happy.”

“Where are you? Can you even hear me?”

It’s taken me years to realize that just because the answer is no, (or no response seemingly, which is essentially still a no.) well it doesn’t mean He didn’t hear me or doesn’t care. What it means is that He has other things planned for me, better things than I could have ever imagined.

Patience isn’t a strong suit of mine. He’s sure tested me plenty over the years. Sometimes it’s hard to fathom that my stressful moments and heartaches could ever be a part of His plan. Why would He let His child suffer?

But, His will is good and though it sometimes has taken me years to understand why things happen the way that they do, the truth is always revealed.

Often times we want what we want and when we want it. When God doesn’t follow our plan, it can be frustrating. But, that’s usually when He says,

“This isn’t part of My plan and I know you’ll be upset, but in time, you’ll see why I took you in another direction. Now is the time to wait, listen, and follow the path I’m setting for you.”

His plan and ours often clash, but in the end, which one would you rather use? Me, well, I choose to keep trusting Him. I’ll undoubtedly get frustrated plenty along the way, but He’ll keep reminding me it’ll all be worth it.

Comments on: "Yes, No, Maybe So" (6)

  1. I’ve been here and it’s tough. I think a lot comes down to what I’m praying for. I’ve noticed that if what I’m praying for is related to something that can become an idol for me, he waits or says no. So I blasted my ears for a decade and a half with music and would retreat from intimacy with Jesus and worldly problems through music, and then surprise, surprise, I have tinnitus now. And I’ve prayed for healing over and over, and I have gotten it at times, but then it comes back. So I asked God about this and he said, “You made an idol out of retreating into daydreams while listening to music. I won’t leave you there. Listen for my voice not for some song.” Jesus hasn’t broken that fleshly need in the wiring of my brain that I made through a decade of choices to run to the iPod or the phone to music as an idol and so he’s only healed me partially. And it makes sense, because he’s just wanting to grow us up in him, make us like his Son, and break our addiction to our own idols. He loves us too much to let us stay in our situations sometimes and so he has to say no, at least for the time being. But I have heard him say healing will come to me in time…can’t wait for that moment! 🙂

    Have you read John Eldredge’s Moving Mountains? It’s all about this and is fantastic. I just finished it and loved it. God bless!

    Like

  2. This is so true and good!

    Like

Leave a Reply

I Suck at Marriage

I wonder who doesn't suck at marriage on some level...

The Anonymous Writer's Notebook

Create, Share, Inspire

The Diary of a Bee

With brave wings, she flies.

18Megapixel

© Michael Soriano Photography

POETRY PASSION

AN AWESOME SOURCE OF ROMANTIC POETRY

Mona_Khaan

tha blogs is about styles beauty health true story's love poetry many more )): my blog my own thoughts) monakhaan.com

420 ways to reach the sun

let the conversation begin.

Quill & Parchment

I Solemnly Swear I Am Up To No Good

CrazyRedders.com

CrazyRedders

Ricardo Sexton

.Welcome to my Metaphors.

Mr. Bill's Travel Blog

Amputee Travel... let the adventures begin!

simple Ula

I want to be rich. Rich in love, rich in health, rich in laughter, rich in adventure and rich in knowledge. You?

Don't Give a Jam

a word girl with a lifestyle blog

Let's get talking

about.just.anything

Dee Gratitude

"Everything Will Be All Righ..."

Alif Satria

Good Life or Bad Life Is Your Choice

Education Rickshaw

Founded in the 21st Century

Urban Poetry

Where Legends Live in Words. A Digital Art & Poetry Wordpress By Linda J. Wolff

Kuddos and Kiddos

Taking SAHM life, one day at a time.

Little Fears

Flash fiction tales of humor, horror and whimsy

natureplayhk.wordpress.com/

We connect your child with nature

Life with Tranquility...!

Live Life with Tranquility of Life...!

Rooting for Forever

You found parts of me I didn't know existed and in you I found a love I no longer believed was real

Rules of Knowledge

Purveyor of Ideas

All Things Steph

Love, Life, and everything in between.

Phantasmagoria

whispers in a nineteen year old mind

yourfriendlycarguy.wordpress.com/

Buying cars is simple. My job is to make it fun for you!

Consolation's Many Forms

The Everything in the Everyday

me&mi music

As for ME & MI MUSIC.... We're on the way up!

Tangible Triumph

Motivation, Inspiration, Life

Joshi Daniel Photography

Images of People Photoblog

Everlasting Smile Wisdom

Be the reason for million smiles but never be a reason for even a single grudge

