4 out of 5 dentists recommend this WordPress.com site

cf4461755e97992cd013795e125d0493

When you think of addictions, it’s easy to turn your mind to drugs and alcohol. They’re definitely abused by many around the world. But, there’s so much more out there that consumes us, that we find hard to let go of, that we choose to let control us. It’s a choice we willingly make every day. What will be more important to us today and what will we do to hold onto it?

Sex, gambling, cults, wars, and other things can be addictive too. They can consume you and lead you to dark times. Ah and let’s not forget about caffeine! Many are addicted to that and don’t realize it, that is until and unless they don’t have it. Then you end up with migraines and not feeling so hot. If your body is used to it and you suddenly take it away, your body revolts. It’s one of the more innocent ones, but it’s still an addiction if you just have to have it. But, it’s all your choice. When people say that they don’t have a choice, they’re making excuses to hold onto their vices. It’s not easy to quit, to walk away, or to get help. In fact, it’s really hard, seemingly impossible. But, it’s always possible to get help, to find your way out of its grasp on you.

There are other addictions that many don’t even think of as such. Some of these are, but are not limited to, your career or relationships. How many times has someone said, “My career cost me my marriage or my relationship with my kids” or “When I was dating so and so, I lost my friends.”? Your career didn’t end your marriage, you did. You chose it over your marriage. Your relationship didn’t end your friendships, you chose your partner over them.

Addictions aren’t always easy to recognize. Sometimes they’re hidden in plain sight and are a part of our every day lives that seem commonplace. But, if something or someone becomes more important to us than everything else and we become so fixated that other things and people take a backseat in our lives, then there’s a problem.

I’ve struggled with addiction myself and I didn’t see it until way later. Part of that was because it wasn’t something many associate with addiction. It was hard to admit and own up to. Shame took hold and then anger, mostly at myself, but that I took out on others. Every single day I wake, I fight to keep a clear head, to keep my priorities straight. We all do, it’s just an easier battle for some than others. Life can be one heck of an addiction. So, what’s important to you today and what will you do to hold onto it?

Comments on: "Life is one heck of an addiction" (2)

  1. Thoughtful post.
    I’m not letting go of the life I’ve been given since I got sober years ago. Life is too incredible to let addiction come and take it again.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Wonderful! I’m so happy for you! Take the bull by the horns and make today great, Abbie! Life isn’t always easy, but it’s sure a beautiful thing not to be taken for granted. ♡♡♡

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

I Suck at Marriage

I wonder who doesn't suck at marriage on some level...

The Anonymous Writer's Notebook

Create, Share, Inspire

The Diary of a Bee

With brave wings, she flies.

18Megapixel

© Michael Soriano Photography

POETRY PASSION

AN AWESOME SOURCE OF ROMANTIC POETRY

Mona_Khaan

tha blogs is about styles beauty health true story's love poetry many more )): my blog my own thoughts) monakhaan.com

420 ways to reach the sun

let the conversation begin.

Quill & Parchment

I Solemnly Swear I Am Up To No Good

CrazyRedders.com

CrazyRedders

Ricardo Sexton

.Welcome to my Metaphors.

Mr. Bill's Travel Blog

Amputee Travel... let the adventures begin!

simple Ula

I want to be rich. Rich in love, rich in health, rich in laughter, rich in adventure and rich in knowledge. You?

Don't Give a Jam

a word girl with a lifestyle blog

Let's get talking

about.just.anything

Dee Gratitude

"Everything Will Be All Righ..."

Alif Satria

Good Life or Bad Life Is Your Choice

Education Rickshaw

Founded in the 21st Century

Urban Poetry

Where Legends Live in Words. A Digital Art & Poetry Wordpress By Linda J. Wolff

Kuddos and Kiddos

Taking SAHM life, one day at a time.

Little Fears

Flash fiction tales of humor, horror and whimsy

natureplayhk.wordpress.com/

We connect your child with nature

Life with Tranquility...!

Live Life with Tranquility of Life...!

Rooting for Forever

You found parts of me I didn't know existed and in you I found a love I no longer believed was real

Rules of Knowledge

Purveyor of Ideas

All Things Steph

Love, Life, and everything in between.

Phantasmagoria

whispers in a nineteen year old mind

yourfriendlycarguy.wordpress.com/

Buying cars is simple. My job is to make it fun for you!

Consolation's Many Forms

The Everything in the Everyday

me&mi music

As for ME & MI MUSIC.... We're on the way up!

Tangible Triumph

Motivation, Inspiration, Life

Joshi Daniel Photography

Images of People Photoblog

Everlasting Smile Wisdom

Be the reason for million smiles but never be a reason for even a single grudge

