4 out of 5 dentists recommend this WordPress.com site

children

My personal view is that children should never be put in the middle of their parent’s disputes. They also should not have to suffer because the parents have issues with one another. I have seen too many kids I know go through these things and it’s a horrible thing to put your children through.

It doesn’t matter if the other parent cheated on you, doesn’t want to be with you anymore, wasn’t the greatest boyfriend/girlfriend or wife/husband, etc. Your mistakes made against one another should not be taken out on the kids. If there’s violence or neglect, real reasons to worry about your kid’s safety and well being, that’s one thing. But, to simply to deny one parent time with their kids, to talk down about the other parent to the kids, etc is not okay. If both parents love their children and are doing all they can to be there for them, then they should both be a part of their lives. Put your differences aside, it’s not about you and how you were wronged. It’s about the kids, period.

Also, I have an issue with people who assume it’s either always the women who are keeping the fathers from their kids. It’s not always the men who are struggling to see their kids. Sometimes, it’s the women who are fighting the fathers and it’s happening more and more now. Personally, I am against blaming just men or women for the bad things that happen. Both are quite capable of causing pain and are equally guilty. Point blank, no parent should keep their children from the other parent without good cause. And again, proper cause means that your children are being harmed or neglected in their care, not just because they pissed you off, left you, etc. Being a good partner and parent do not always go hand in hand. Someone can be lousy at dating or being a good partner, but be a great parent. And sometimes, it was just the relationship between the two of you. Sometimes people are just toxic to one another, but when they find the right person, things change. That is neither here nor there when it comes to this post though.

I will also add more to the thought, do not talk badly about the other parent in front of the kids. If there is reason for them to think poorly of them, the kids will see it for themselves. Our opinions should not be forced upon the kids, ever. Kids are not as clueless as we think sometimes. They see and hear more than we realize and will be able to decide for themselves how to feel. Concentrate on your own relationship with them, the rest will figure itself out. It’s hard enough being a part of a split home, don’t make things harder on them. Do not put them in the middle, let them be number one to both of you.

(My 13 year old son has been in the middle between his dad and I for most of his life and seeing what’s it done to him is a huge reason I made this post. I speak from experience.)

Comments on: "Children Caught in the Middle" (4)

  1. I just so happened to stumble upon your post on the day that my ex-husband called to talk to our children (4 & 7 years old). It was the first time in almost two years after deciding out of the blue that family wasn’t for him and that he wanted nothing to do with us. EVER. He cheated on me. He hurt me. He abandoned us.
    Even though I am livid at the fact that he can just take a break from his children and jump right back in, I will let the kids decide how they feel about how he treated them. Not how he treated me. Just them. 🙂 Good advice!

    Like

    • CarissaMarie said:

      It’s not always easy to put your feelings aside, trust me I know. My son’s dad has put me through hell. And there have been times that I have struggled to handle it properly. But, in the end, it’s the best thing for the kids. I hope things go well between your children and their dad. And if not, like I said, they’ll see who he is all on their own. Best of luck to all of you! ♡♡♡

      Liked by 1 person

  2. What a great read on such a touchy subject. I applaud you.x

    Like

Leave a Reply

Moosmosis

Exploring an Arts & Sciences Education

Diary of a Little Peach

Parenting tips, product reviews, recipes, stories, and more.

Cooking with a Wallflower

Cooking. Baking. Crafting. Writing.

ANIKET SHARMA PHOTOGRAPHY

World through my lens

D-pad Joy

PS4, XBO, Switch and PC news, reviews, indie games and developers

bipolarbree1

My life with Bipolar, anxiety, and addictions

Life, Love, Poetry, & Other Randomness

4 out of 5 dentists recommend this WordPress.com site

The Diary Of A Muslim Girl

Dare ◦ To ◦ Live ◦ Your ◦ Legacy

Anish Oza

Writes

I Suck at Marriage

I wonder who doesn't suck at marriage on some level...

The Anonymous Writer's Notebook

Create, Share, Inspire

The Diary of a Bee

With brave wings, she flies.

18Megapixel

© Michael Soriano Photography

POETRY PASSION

AN AWESOME SOURCE OF ROMANTIC POETRY

Mona_Khaan

tha blogs is about styles beauty health true story's love poetry many more )): my blog my own thoughts) monakhaan.com

420 ways to reach the sun

let the conversation begin.

Quill & Parchment

I Solemnly Swear I Am Up To No Good

CrazyRedders.com

CrazyRedders

Ricardo Sexton

.Welcome to my Metaphors.

Mr. Bill's Travel Blog

Amputee Travel... let the adventures begin!

simple Ula

I want to be rich. Rich in love, rich in health, rich in laughter, rich in adventure and rich in knowledge. You?

dontgiveajamdotcom.wordpress.com/

a word girl w/ a lifestyle blog | new posts M • W • F

Let's get talking

about.just.anything

Dee Gratitude

"Everything Will Be All Righ..."

Alif Satria

GOOD LIFE OR BAD LIFE IS YOUR CHOICE

Education Rickshaw

International Teaching in Motion

Urban Poetry

She's an Urban Pen spilling ink in inspiration and words.. A Digital Art & Poetry Wordpress By Linda J. Wolff

Kuddos and Kiddos

Taking SAHM life, one day at a time.

Little Fears

Tales of whimsy, humour and courgettes

natureplayhk.wordpress.com/

We connect your child with nature

Life with Tranquility...!

Live Life with Tranquility of Life...!

Rooting for Forever

You found parts of me I didn't know existed and in you I found a love I no longer believed was real

Rules of Knowledge

Purveyor of Ideas

