4 out of 5 dentists recommend this WordPress.com site

Our Love Story

our love story

I was walking down memory lane tonight. I feel like telling our story. January 13th, 2012 is when it all began. Though little did either of us know that we’d be where we are today. I first met Doug that cold January night at an A.D.O.B tour show. I didn’t give him much thought that first time I saw him. He was dating someone else and I wasn’t over an ex of mine. Neither of us were in a position to really consider one another anything more than friends, though truth be told, we were just acquaintances for several months. We talked a couple of times when our group was hanging out. I remember one conversation in particular actually. We talked for awhile about music. It was the first time I’d really talked to him. 

It wasn’t until the summer of 2012 that we really started getting to know one another. We started chatting in August and on the 30th is when we hung out for the first time, just the two of us. He knew I was in a rough spot and needed a friend, so he asked me if I wanted to hang out. Not once did he make a move on me. He was strictly my friend for a little while. It didn’t take me long to consider him a very good friend. He was someone I could talk to about anything, turn to if I was having a bad day, that could make me laugh, made me feel comfortable, and accepted me as I was. I realized a few weeks into hanging out and talking nearly every day that I was falling in love with him. It was as our friends predicted long before we were anything more than casual acquaintances, that we’d get along, that we’d be a good match. It seemed after awhile that maybe he had feelings for me too.

As it turns out, he did. Though when I first asked him how he felt and told him that I liked him, he wasn’t as enthused as I’d hoped. He did admit to liking me, but thought we’d be best suited as friends. I was so hurt and confused. That was on Sunday, September 30th. What an awkward conversation that was. But, then the next day, he asked me if I wanted to go to a Brewer game with him. His sister couldn’t use their tickets. So, he, myself, Petrina, & Joe went to the game on October 3rd. It felt like a date, with him picking me up, walking me to the door when he dropped me off, etc….except that it was a bit awkward. Our friends knew something was there between us and well, so did we….but something was keeping us from acting on our feelings.

On the 4th, feeling frustrated and confused, I decided to ask him to watch movies with me at my apartment after work. He accepted the offer and came over. It was still awkward for awhile, but eventually, he put his arm around me. We kissed later and from then on, that was that. (the 11th was our first date, courting me at that time I guess you’d consider it.) Even though we didn’t start officially dating until the 16th. He asked me out much the same way that he proposed to me, very nonchalantly, casual. Over the moon with happiness, I didn’t care that there wasn’t some grand romantic gesture. It was enough to know the feelings that were behind the question.

January 5th, 2013, he told me he loved me for the first time. The joy I felt in that moment still lives within me today and has been growing ever since. May 23rd, 2013, we moved in together. And then we just celebrated living together as a family for a year last month. What Zach, Doug, and I have is special, beautiful, and worth more than any amount of possessions. When Doug asked me if I wanted to get married on the 21st, (it was after Midnight after all.) not a doubt was in my mind that it was time. I’d been ready for awhile, well in many ways, to marry him. But looking back on everything, I am glad it’s now that he’s asked and not then. It’s given us time to grow, solidify our relationship, and make sure we were both ready. So, the next chapter will be written on Saturday, May 23rd, 2015 when we say I do and we become husband and wife. I am beyond elated to make what we have official in the eyes of God and the state, before our family and closest friends. I will walk beside you for the rest of my life, through the good and the bad. I love you.

Comments on: "Our Love Story" (2)

  1. thankyou for sharing – that was a yummy moment in my day…blessings

    Like

Leave a Reply

Moosmosis

Exploring an Arts & Sciences Education

Diary of a Little Peach

Parenting tips, product reviews, recipes, stories, and more.

Cooking with a Wallflower

Cooking. Baking. Crafting. Writing.

ANIKET SHARMA PHOTOGRAPHY

World through my lens

D-pad Joy

PS4, XBO, Switch and PC news, reviews, indie games and developers

bipolarbree1

My life with Bipolar, anxiety, and addictions

Life, Love, Poetry, & Other Randomness

4 out of 5 dentists recommend this WordPress.com site

The Diary Of A Muslim Girl

Dare ◦ To ◦ Live ◦ Your ◦ Legacy

Anish Oza

Writes

I Suck at Marriage

I wonder who doesn't suck at marriage on some level...

The Anonymous Writer's Notebook

Create, Share, Inspire

The Diary of a Bee

With brave wings, she flies.

18Megapixel

© Michael Soriano Photography

POETRY PASSION

AN AWESOME SOURCE OF ROMANTIC POETRY

Mona_Khaan

tha blogs is about styles beauty health true story's love poetry many more )): my blog my own thoughts) monakhaan.com

420 ways to reach the sun

let the conversation begin.

Quill & Parchment

I Solemnly Swear I Am Up To No Good

CrazyRedders.com

CrazyRedders

Ricardo Sexton

.Welcome to my Metaphors.

Mr. Bill's Travel Blog

Amputee Travel... let the adventures begin!

simple Ula

I want to be rich. Rich in love, rich in health, rich in laughter, rich in adventure and rich in knowledge. You?

dontgiveajamdotcom.wordpress.com/

a word girl w/ a lifestyle blog | new posts M • W • F

Let's get talking

about.just.anything

Dee Gratitude

"Everything Will Be All Righ..."

Alif Satria

GOOD LIFE OR BAD LIFE IS YOUR CHOICE

Education Rickshaw

International Teaching in Motion

Urban Poetry

She's an Urban Pen spilling ink in inspiration and words.. A Digital Art & Poetry Wordpress By Linda J. Wolff

Kuddos and Kiddos

Taking SAHM life, one day at a time.

Little Fears

Tales of whimsy, humour and courgettes

natureplayhk.wordpress.com/

We connect your child with nature

Life with Tranquility...!

Live Life with Tranquility of Life...!

Rooting for Forever

You found parts of me I didn't know existed and in you I found a love I no longer believed was real

Rules of Knowledge

Purveyor of Ideas

