4 out of 5 dentists recommend this WordPress.com site

303539_250769498356911_633153844_n

On Facebook, I have been saying something I am thankful for each day for the entire month of November. It’s actually something I think we should do all year. I was thinking about how when a holiday rolls around, many get into the spirit, but then when it’s over, it’s back to “normal”. I wish “normal” was being thankful every single day, being in the giving spirit, wanting to help our fellow man (or woman teehee). Thanksgiving is upon us and so right now I see a lot of people focusing on that and some on Christmas too, though sadly it’s mostly on the food to buy and prepare, decorations, gifts, and so forth. Though there are also a number of people focused on the heart of those days as well. I am delighted to see a few other friends doing the same thing I am on Facebook. Sad thing is, Thanksgiving will end and the posts will stop, but why should they? Shouldn’t we find things to be thankful for everyday? Perhaps we don’t need to post about them, but at least perhaps take a moment to ourselves and say thank you for something. A thankful heart is a happier one, I think.

Religious or not, Christmas too becomes a stressful time for many because people are so consumed with having enough money to buy presents, figuring out what to get and for whom, having the house decorated, do we have the time off work requested, traveling worries, is our house ready for guests, and so on. I am of the Christian faith, so Christmas to me is largely about Christ. However, I don’t see a problem spending that time with loved ones and celebrating our love for one another as well. I think Christ compels us to do just that, that is how I honor my God. But, sometimes even I get so caught up in “what needs to be done” and lose sight of what I am really celebrating. It happens to a lot of us, sadly.

It is all too easy on Easter to get stressed about buying presents for the kids, figuring out good hiding spots, meal preparations, and so on. Memorial Day, Fourth of July, Veteran’s Day….we try to honor our country and those who have defended it….but when those days are over, again, back to “normal”. I don’t like what “normal” seems to be for our country as a whole. Individually, I can not and will not speak as to how people go about their lives. I am sure there are some very humble people who give thanks often for what they have and to those who have given them what they have. But, when I think about 9/11/2001 and how our country really came together…but then later when things had quieted down, our country went back to the way it was, I am saddened. Why does it take a national tragedy or a major holiday to trigger togetherness? Reflect on that for a moment.

Then there are days like Valentine’s Day, Sweetest Day, and the like that have people in a frenzy. We feel obligated to buy things for our loved ones and I don’t like that. What happened to showing our love for one another throughout the year? Sometimes we can be so compassionate, warm hearted, and really treat one another with respect and love. But then, there are times when we’re so selfish, cruel, and insensitive. *shakes head* I know I fall into all of the groups I complain about from time to time and that’s what’s harder for me to personally deal with. I resolve to be kinder and more often, not just when the calendar orders me to do so. I resolve to be more thankful and not take the people in my life for granted. I resolve to honor my country, my God, and my loved ones as often as possible. While I have time yet, I resolve to waste as little of it as possible. That is my wish for all I love, that you all will do the same. Let’s start right now. 🙂 I am indeed thankful for so much in my life, like for instance…all of you who read my blog and support my writing and support me as a friend. What are you thankful for today?

483411_428899000509231_1300431347_n

Comments on: "What Are You Thankful For Today?" (6)

  1. I’ve been lucky to have holidays center around food. Christmas morning is about bacon and eggs. Easter is chocolate and jelly beans, thanksgiving the turkey. Valentines is at a Michelin star restaurant. That’s about as pricy and gift like as it gets. And these are things done throughout the year too. Food sort of spreads the love around time wise and can always be given, so there is no special day that has yo be made perfect and it sets the gift giving level at being together. Try doing no presents, none, just a lot of food and have food something to give whenever it feels good. Its also great for keeping stress from unbalancing moods.

    Like

  2. Everytime I hear ‘What are you thankful for?’ I’m reminded of that episode from Dexter. Great article.

    Like

  3. Today I am thankful for people (including you) who left kind and supportive comments on my blog. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

I Suck at Marriage

I wonder who doesn't suck at marriage on some level...

The Anonymous Writer's Notebook

Create, Share, Inspire

The Diary of a Bee

With brave wings, she flies.

18Megapixel

© Michael Soriano Photography

POETRY PASSION

AN AWESOME SOURCE OF ROMANTIC POETRY

Mona_Khaan

tha blogs is about styles beauty health true story's love poetry many more )): my blog my own thoughts) monakhaan.com

420 ways to reach the sun

let the conversation begin.

Quill & Parchment

I Solemnly Swear I Am Up To No Good

CrazyRedders.com

CrazyRedders

Ricardo Sexton

.Welcome to my Metaphors.

Mr. Bill's Travel Blog

Amputee Travel... let the adventures begin!

simple Ula

I want to be rich. Rich in love, rich in health, rich in laughter, rich in adventure and rich in knowledge. You?

Don't Give a Jam

a word girl with a lifestyle blog

Let's get talking

about.just.anything

Dee Gratitude

"Everything Will Be All Righ..."

Alif Satria

Good Life or Bad Life Is Your Choice

Education Rickshaw

Founded in the 21st Century

Urban Poetry

Where Legends Live in Words. A Digital Art & Poetry Wordpress By Linda J. Wolff

Kuddos and Kiddos

Taking SAHM life, one day at a time.

Little Fears

Flash fiction tales of humor, horror and whimsy

natureplayhk.wordpress.com/

We connect your child with nature

Life with Tranquility...!

Live Life with Tranquility of Life...!

Rooting for Forever

You found parts of me I didn't know existed and in you I found a love I no longer believed was real

Rules of Knowledge

Purveyor of Ideas

All Things Steph

Love, Life, and everything in between.

Phantasmagoria

whispers in a nineteen year old mind

yourfriendlycarguy.wordpress.com/

Buying cars is simple. My job is to make it fun for you!

Consolation's Many Forms

The Everything in the Everyday

me&mi music

As for ME & MI MUSIC.... We're on the way up!

Tangible Triumph

Motivation, Inspiration, Life

Joshi Daniel Photography

Images of People Photoblog

Everlasting Smile Wisdom

Be the reason for million smiles but never be a reason for even a single grudge

