4 out of 5 dentists recommend this WordPress.com site

Social Media

Growing up, such things as Tablets, Smart phones, Ipads, and the like simply didn’t exist. And having a computer was a luxury, not commonplace. We didn’t have a computer, were on too limited of a budget for things like that. I wonder if these things had never been introduced to us, how we would be living right now. That is neither here nor there at the moment. I read a post by the lovely JessicaΒ and wanted to expand on it. Her post was about social media in general, is it a good thing or a bad thing. I really liked what she had to say and the various comments. I like a good debate now and then. πŸ˜‰

So, in general, I think social media sites such as Facebook, MySpace, Google, Twitter, and the like can be a very positive thing. Being able to network your business, your talents, and so forth is great. Also, being able to keep in contact with loved ones is a major plus. Where we get into trouble is when we spend so much time on these sites that we forget to spend time offline and do other things. Sometimes I think that we never should have come up with computers, the internet, and so forth.

There are times that I feel we, myself included yes, we lose touch with the world….with ourselves, with our loved ones. “But, I can Skype with my sister in AZ!”, “An e-mail is so much quicker than sending snail mail.”, and so on. All of this is very true and most times I am glad that we have all this technology and that we can do things like send e-mails to friends & family, be more productive at work with our communication, and so on. I will admit too that I can be a bit of a social media junkie myself. I like Facebook, A LOT, more than I should probably. I have found too that a lot of it stems down from boredom. When I haveΒ a lot going on offline, I find myself with less time and desire to check in, post, and read my newsfeed. I like seeing pictures, reading updates, and knowing how my loved ones are doing. I like sharing as well, not just updates…but my poetry, short stories, and the like. WordPress too has been wonderful! I have met so many people that I’d not have otherwise met and am glad to be a part of this site.

So yes, overall I am glad we have social media sites. I just think that we need to balance out our online and offline time a bit better. So, this brings me to the original reason for my post today. Are these sites too accessible? In the beginning, we had to be on our personal computers to be on the internet, then came laptops, so you could take your computer anywhere. This comes in handy for business people and students the most, though I have loved ones who use them on the go just to check e-mail, chat, and play games as well. Next step in information technology: Ipads, Tablets, Smart phones, and the like. You don’t even have to have a computer at all now to post your latest Tweet, view your latest bank statement, chat with your friend in Spain, check the stock market, share pictures, or even write your term paper. Have we gone too far or are we just getting started? What are your view points, WordPress? Have social media sites and the internet in general become too accessible? I want to know what your thoughts are, please share!

Comments on: "Social Media & the Internet In General, Is It Too Accessible?" (7)

  1. Reblogged this on Social Media and commented:
    Great post!
    I agree fully with what you’ve said..even when I was growing up (1990’s) I remember just having one standard VERY BASIC computer, which much of the time was just used for gaming; nobody was that interested in social media in comparison too now.
    It’s scary to see how quickly times have changed and developed.. I’m not sure if this is a good thing, I’m sort of anxious about how quick the next 10-15 years will develop!
    Thank you for the mention! ..I hope you get lots of responses; I’d like to read other peoples’ opinions too! πŸ™‚

    Like

  2. ramblingsofabipolarwoman said:

    Thank you first of all for inspiring me to write this in the first place and secondly, thank you for re-blogging it! πŸ™‚

    Like

  3. Reblogged this on clisseman and commented:
    Such a good evaluation of just how quick social media has developed and become almost a necessity in daily life!

    Like

  4. Reblogged this on Bradshaw's Apprentice and commented:
    A helpful and well-written source for my BCM240 assignment!

    Like

Leave a Reply

FAITH

juggling college and professionalism one article at a time

o l i t a

place of all things lovely, by ola masalska

Kirsten Hartman

Fashion, Beauty, Lifestyle

Finding Beauty Middle East

Beauty - Lifestyle - Dining

RyanPhotography

..... Images by Bren and Ashley Ryan

Evelina

by Evelina Di Lauro

Messy Mapmaker

Searching Through the Pile of To-Do Lists to See What's Coming Next

Sunshine

Courage In Living

paperlanternsinpapertown

Heart only speaks when mind shut down πŸ’˜πŸ’˜πŸ’˜πŸ˜ŠπŸ˜ŠπŸ˜Š

Hello Foxy

A Lifestyle Blog For Badass Babes

TheKushOfficial

Thoughts Explorer

Pocketful of Smiles

Lifestyle Blog

Aching and Hold on Tight

I dont know how to do this

Sketch.urself

U dont have to be a good artist to sketch urselfπŸ˜‰βœŒ

Moosmosis

Exploring an Arts & Sciences Education

Diary of a Little Peach

Parenting tips, product reviews, recipes, stories, and more.

Cooking with a Wallflower

Cooking. Baking. Crafting. Writing.

ANIKET SHARMA PHOTOGRAPHY

World through my lens

D-pad Joy

PS4, XBO, Switch, PC and Mobile news, reviews, indie games and developers

bipolarbree1

It's Okay, not to be Okay!

Life, Love, Poetry, & Other Randomness

4 out of 5 dentists recommend this WordPress.com site

The Diary Of A Muslim Girl

Dare β—¦ To β—¦ Live β—¦ Your β—¦ Legacy

Anish Oza

Writes

I Suck at Marriage

I wonder who doesn't suck at marriage on some level...

The Anonymous Writer's Notebook

Create, Share, Inspire

The Diary of a Bee

Your wandering diary.

18Megapixel

Β© Michael Soriano Photography

POETRY PASSION

A PLACE FOR PROFESSIONAL & PASSIONATE POETS

MonaKhaan

tha blogs is about styles beauty health true story's love poetry many more )): my blog my own thoughts) monakhaan.com

420 ways to reach the sun

let the conversation begin.

Quill & Parchment

I Solemnly Swear I Am Up To No Good

CrazyRedders.com

CrazyRedders

