4 out of 5 dentists recommend this WordPress.com site

Taking A Stand Against Hate

543572_10151026235186323_634218308_n

This morning on my way to work, I began thinking about the poem I wrote and shared yesterday. It isn’t just religion that divides us. It saddens me that we discriminate, judge, and treat others harshly at all. At the end of the day, we’re all human. Should it really matter what color we are, whether we’re male or female, whether we’re young or old, what side of town we’re from, what country we’re from, what religion (if any) we choose to follow, how much money we make, what our sexual orientation is, who we voted for, what we wear, and so on? It’s sad that people have to worry about colors they wear because gang members might hurt you or even kill you over it because they think you’re from an “enemy clan”. Just because a kid wants to pray, they might get beaten up. In some countries, you get killed for what you believe, for wanting an education, or for even wanting to do things differently than they want you to.

I was always taught to believe that I am not any better than another person. No one is perfect and no one has the right to judge another and religion had nothing to do with those beliefs. My mom isn’t religious at all, but she still taught me to be respectful and kind. The sad thing is people take judgment into their own hands, some even claim it’s in the name of their higher power that they do what they do, that they were called to smite others. I have far from given up on the human race, for I know there is still much good in us. It’s just disheartening to think about how much evil there is in us as well. I wish this world was much kinder than it is. We don’t have to agree with one another or even say that we’re “cool” with how people live, but we certainly do not need to kill one another over our differences. We also do not need to bully one another over it either. We’re all entitled to have our own opinions and if you wish to speak them, do so, but then it would be wonderful if people could leave it at that.

I am not a fool and don’t believe just by wishing it so that it will become that way, but I can wish for it anyway. I can also do my part by doing what it is I want to see from others. I don’t agree with a lot of things and I will tell people how I feel, but I will still extend my hand in friendship and offer compassion. We will never win over the world with war and violence, those who think so are sorely mistaken. I will continue to live my life helping others when I can, being kind, and loving with all I have. I know I am only one person, but they say one person can change the world. Luckily too, I know I am not the only one who feels the way I do. Let’s continue to break the barriers of hate down, not by judging, sitting on our pedestals…no, that only causes more hate. No one is holier than thou and it’s time to stop acting as such. (that is why many boycott religion by the way, because they’re chased away by judgmental behavior.) Stand on level ground with others and watch what the power of kindness and love can do. 🙂 

Leave a Reply

I Suck at Marriage

I wonder who doesn't suck at marriage on some level...

The Anonymous Writer's Notebook

Create, Share, Inspire

The Diary of a Bee

With brave wings, she flies.

18Megapixel

© Michael Soriano Photography

POETRY PASSION

AN AWESOME SOURCE OF ROMANTIC POETRY

Mona_Khaan

tha blogs is about styles beauty health true story's love poetry many more )): my blog my own thoughts) monakhaan.com

420 ways to reach the sun

let the conversation begin.

Quill & Parchment

I Solemnly Swear I Am Up To No Good

CrazyRedders.com

CrazyRedders

Ricardo Sexton

.Welcome to my Metaphors.

Mr. Bill's Travel Blog

Amputee Travel... let the adventures begin!

simple Ula

I want to be rich. Rich in love, rich in health, rich in laughter, rich in adventure and rich in knowledge. You?

Don't Give a Jam

a word girl with a lifestyle blog

Let's get talking

about.just.anything

Dee Gratitude

"Everything Will Be All Righ..."

Alif Satria

Good Life or Bad Life Is Your Choice

Education Rickshaw

Founded in the 21st Century

Urban Poetry

Where Legends Live in Words. A Digital Art & Poetry Wordpress By Linda J. Wolff

Kuddos and Kiddos

Taking SAHM life, one day at a time.

Little Fears

Flash fiction tales of humor, horror and whimsy

natureplayhk.wordpress.com/

We connect your child with nature

Life with Tranquility...!

Live Life with Tranquility of Life...!

Rooting for Forever

You found parts of me I didn't know existed and in you I found a love I no longer believed was real

Rules of Knowledge

Purveyor of Ideas

All Things Steph

Love, Life, and everything in between.

Phantasmagoria

whispers in a nineteen year old mind

yourfriendlycarguy.wordpress.com/

Buying cars is simple. My job is to make it fun for you!

Consolation's Many Forms

The Everything in the Everyday

me&mi music

As for ME & MI MUSIC.... We're on the way up!

Tangible Triumph

Motivation, Inspiration, Life

Joshi Daniel Photography

Images of People Photoblog

Everlasting Smile Wisdom

Be the reason for million smiles but never be a reason for even a single grudge

