4 out of 5 dentists recommend this WordPress.com site

rose

November 17th, 2012 was a day that shook up the lives of many people, people I would come to know and love. My boyfriend and I had only been dating for a month at the time. We’d just gone out the night before in fact to celebrate. That day we were supposed to meet up at a friend’s for their daughter’s birthday party. I received a text from him that day that said there’d been a family emergency, so he’d be unable to attend. I was curious, but I did not pry. I went about my business and did what I could to help make Hali’s birthday party a success. Hali did have a good time and so looking back on that day now, there was some sunshine upon that day to be grateful for….

Well, anyway, I eventually went back home to check on my grandma, whom I was taking care of at the time. I told my friend I might be back to keep her company. She had an apartment full of pre-teen girls, so having another adult there would be appreciated. 😉 When I was at home and I was settling in for the evening, my boyfriend messaged me online and told me what was going on. His mother died that day. She had cut herself and then they think she second guessed what she was doing and tried to get help, as she was headed in the direction of the hospital. No one knows for sure, but we’re hoping. She crashed the car, they think she might have passed out from the pain. Her faith in God was strong, but she’d been dealing with a lot lately, a lot that no one really understood. My heart broke instantly upon reading Doug’s words. I didn’t know what to do. I hadn’t met his family yet, we were a new couple, and I wanted to approach this in appropriately, only I wasn’t sure how. (I did go back to my friend’s, needed emotional support and she needed the company. It was good to have her to talk to that night.)

The next day was bowling league and he showed up. He told us he probably would because he needed to get his mind off things. He was a bit rough for the wear, as was to be expected. We told him he did not need to be there, but he stayed, and did the best he could. We gave him love and support. He told me later that his dad wanted me to come to the funeral. They had been wanting to meet me, granted not under these circumstances, but he felt I should be there. I had told Doug it was up to him, whether he felt it inappropriate for me to be there or if he needed me to stand beside him. When he told me he wanted me there and that his family wanted me to come, I decided to go.

The wake/visitation was rough. His dad hugged me when he met me, fell apart in my arms. I broke down a bit, but I held him. I hugged so many people that day, many I don’t remember today. There was a lot of crying, some laughing too as they recalled memories of her. I was told by more than one person they were glad I was there to support Doug. I know now, it was the right place to be, by his side. It’s where I want to be for the rest of my life, through the extremely good and the heartbreakingly tough. We’re approaching the one year mark since she died. Sunday is going to be very emotional for him and his family. I will be right where I was a year ago, holding his hand and supporting him. His family is wonderful and I am glad I have been able to get to know them. Many times I wish I had gotten to meet them under better circumstances and more so, that I had gotten to meet his mom, alive. But, I have gotten to know her in a different way. I am grateful for the pictures I have seen, the stories I have heard, and I think the greatest part of her I see is in her children. She and Phil raised three wonderful children, all driven to succeed, who have outstanding morals, and have such warm and giving hearts. Her legacy shall live on through them and her grandchildren, as well as the rest of her family and her friends. So many people miss her and Sunday will be rough, but love will help us through. It is not easy to deal with death, even though it’s something we all face. But, with God’s love and grace….and time, we won’t fully heal, but we’ll make it.

Comments on: "Remembering isn’t always easy, but I don’t want to forget…." (2)

  1. That’s a powerful statement to the relationship, especially that early on. God bless it going forward!

    Like

    • ramblingsofabipolarwoman said:

      Thank you! Thus far, we have faced a lot together, but it’s truly been wonderful….finally neither of us has to face these things alone. ❤

      Like

Leave a Reply

I Suck at Marriage

I wonder who doesn't suck at marriage on some level...

The Anonymous Writer's Notebook

Create, Share, Inspire

The Diary of a Bee

With brave wings, she flies.

18Megapixel

© Michael Soriano Photography

POETRY PASSION

AN AWESOME SOURCE OF ROMANTIC POETRY

Mona_Khaan

tha blogs is about styles beauty health true story's love poetry many more )): my blog my own thoughts) monakhaan.com

420 ways to reach the sun

let the conversation begin.

Quill & Parchment

I Solemnly Swear I Am Up To No Good

CrazyRedders.com

CrazyRedders

Ricardo Sexton

.Welcome to my Metaphors.

Mr. Bill's Travel Blog

Amputee Travel... let the adventures begin!

simple Ula

I want to be rich. Rich in love, rich in health, rich in laughter, rich in adventure and rich in knowledge. You?

Don't Give a Jam

a word girl with a lifestyle blog

Let's get talking

about.just.anything

Dee Gratitude

"Everything Will Be All Righ..."

Alif Satria

Good Life or Bad Life Is Your Choice

Education Rickshaw

Founded in the 21st Century

Urban Poetry

Where Legends Live in Words. A Digital Art & Poetry Wordpress By Linda J. Wolff

Kuddos and Kiddos

Taking SAHM life, one day at a time.

Little Fears

Flash fiction tales of humor, horror and whimsy

natureplayhk.wordpress.com/

We connect your child with nature

Life with Tranquility...!

Live Life with Tranquility of Life...!

Rooting for Forever

You found parts of me I didn't know existed and in you I found a love I no longer believed was real

Rules of Knowledge

Purveyor of Ideas

All Things Steph

Love, Life, and everything in between.

Phantasmagoria

whispers in a nineteen year old mind

yourfriendlycarguy.wordpress.com/

Buying cars is simple. My job is to make it fun for you!

Consolation's Many Forms

The Everything in the Everyday

me&mi music

As for ME & MI MUSIC.... We're on the way up!

Tangible Triumph

Motivation, Inspiration, Life

Joshi Daniel Photography

Images of People Photoblog

Everlasting Smile Wisdom

Be the reason for million smiles but never be a reason for even a single grudge

