4 out of 5 dentists recommend this WordPress.com site

Empathy
How can I explain with mere words
The way that my thoughts and emotions work?
When someone I love is hurting, I hurt too
As if their heartaches and burdens were my own

Many times the empathy I feel allows me to help
So there are times when this serves as a blessing
By putting myself through the pain and stress
I can often find ways to help them hurt less

To be able to be there for those I love means a great deal to me
I wish that there was a way for me to make you all see
Though I feel as if most haven’t even begun to discover
Just how deep my love, empathy, and compassion flows

There are times when the stress upon my shoulders crushes me
From the inside out, I begin to wear down
Sometimes people take advantage of my good heart
And their needs begin to tear me apart

It’s not always of malicious intent
From others that has my spirit bent
In fact, often times many are oblivious
To the state of exhaustion I’m in

Now and then, I find that I need to take a step back
To renew the mental and emotional strength I lack
As badly as I feel to tell a loved one no
Sometimes it just needs to be done

Often, I am left with an ache of wanting to give and do more
Giving comfort, support, and love is something I live for
And I feel as if I was put here to do just that
But if I ignore my own needs for too long, I become a mess

I ask that you understand when I need to take some time for myself
That you won’t think I’ve become rude, crass, and uncaring
There are just times when I have my own needs to attend to
But know that my love for each of you will always be strong and true

Comments on: "A Plea For Empathy From An Empathetic Heart" (2)

  1. …words from a natural healer:-) My guess is you help and heal people more than you know. What a powerful gift!

    Like

Leave a Reply

FAITH

juggling college and professionalism one article at a time

o l i t a

place of all things lovely, by ola masalska

Kirsten Hartman

Fashion, Beauty, Lifestyle

Finding Beauty Middle East

Beauty - Lifestyle - Dining

RyanPhotography

..... Images by Bren and Ashley Ryan

Evelina

by Evelina Di Lauro

Messy Mapmaker

Searching Through the Pile of To-Do Lists to See What's Coming Next

Sunshine

Courage In Living

paperlanternsinpapertown

Heart only speaks when mind shut down ๐Ÿ’˜๐Ÿ’˜๐Ÿ’˜๐Ÿ˜Š๐Ÿ˜Š๐Ÿ˜Š

Hello Foxy

A Lifestyle Blog For Badass Babes

TheKushOfficial

Thoughts Explorer

Pocketful of Smiles

Lifestyle Blog

Aching and Hold on Tight

I dont know how to do this

Sketch.urself

U dont have to be a good artist to sketch urself๐Ÿ˜‰โœŒ

Moosmosis

Exploring an Arts & Sciences Education

Diary of a Little Peach

Parenting tips, product reviews, recipes, stories, and more.

Cooking with a Wallflower

Cooking. Baking. Crafting. Writing.

ANIKET SHARMA PHOTOGRAPHY

World through my lens

D-pad Joy

PS4, XBO, Switch, PC and Mobile news, reviews, indie games and developers

bipolarbree1

It's Okay, not to be Okay!

Life, Love, Poetry, & Other Randomness

4 out of 5 dentists recommend this WordPress.com site

The Diary Of A Muslim Girl

Dare โ—ฆ To โ—ฆ Live โ—ฆ Your โ—ฆ Legacy

Anish Oza

Writes

I Suck at Marriage

I wonder who doesn't suck at marriage on some level...

The Anonymous Writer's Notebook

Create, Share, Inspire

The Diary of a Bee

Your wandering diary.

18Megapixel

ยฉ Michael Soriano Photography

POETRY PASSION

A PLACE FOR PROFESSIONAL & PASSIONATE POETS

MonaKhaan

tha blogs is about styles beauty health true story's love poetry many more )): my blog my own thoughts) monakhaan.com

420 ways to reach the sun

let the conversation begin.

Quill & Parchment

I Solemnly Swear I Am Up To No Good

CrazyRedders.com

CrazyRedders

