4 out of 5 dentists recommend this WordPress.com site

Remembering….

Image

August 23rd, 1938 is the day my foster mother, Shirley was born. That day the world was given one of the most wonderful people that I would one day be blessed to meet. 

On March 16th, 1994 is the day I moved into her home. I met her a couple days prior to that and after, she asked me to think about whether I’d like to move in and become a member of their family. Crystal, one of the other girls there begged me to say yes. Right before that, I’d been in a group home because my prior foster care arrangement hadn’t worked out. I was always skeptical, but hopeful at the same time when it came to new living arrangements. 

I wasn’t sure what I’d think of living there, my new school, or any of it, but I was willing to try this out. Little did I know the impact that Shirley, the girls, and the kids at my new school would have. Shirley was so supportive throughout everything I dealt with. When I was troubled, we’d have late night talks. Sometimes Crystal would be in on them. I’d brush Shirley’s hair and Crystal would rub her feet. It was a bit of a ritual. If we were on the phone and we clearly wanted to hang up, she’d pretend to need us so we could give an excuse to whomever we were talking to. Memories of excursions to Taco Bell, listening to Faith Hill, drinking tea with her in the kitchen, and much more still linger within my brain. 

I find today that I miss her more than usual. She really was an amazing person. She was so thoughtful, funny, compassionate, and supportive. God gained a sassy, but truly wonderful angel the day she took her last breath. I try to look at it this way though, she’s not truly gone because she still lives on in us. She still has many friends and family members who are here that love her. Her life will shine on as long as there is one here who remains to tell her stories.

I miss you Shirley Ann Smith. Thank you for your guidance, support, encouragement, and most of all, your love. Happy 75th Birthday, never will you be forgotten.

Comments on: "Remembering…." (3)

  1. Great homage indeed.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Moosmosis

Exploring an Arts & Sciences Education

Diary of a Little Peach

Parenting tips, product reviews, recipes, stories, and more.

Cooking with a Wallflower

Cooking. Baking. Crafting. Writing.

ANIKET SHARMA PHOTOGRAPHY

World through my lens

D-pad Joy

PS4, XBO, Switch and PC news, reviews, indie games and developers

bipolarbree1

My life with Bipolar, anxiety, and addictions

Life, Love, Poetry, & Other Randomness

4 out of 5 dentists recommend this WordPress.com site

The Diary Of A Muslim Girl

Dare ◦ To ◦ Live ◦ Your ◦ Legacy

Anish Oza

Writes

I Suck at Marriage

I wonder who doesn't suck at marriage on some level...

The Anonymous Writer's Notebook

Create, Share, Inspire

The Diary of a Bee

With brave wings, she flies.

18Megapixel

© Michael Soriano Photography

POETRY PASSION

AN AWESOME SOURCE OF ROMANTIC POETRY

Mona_Khaan

tha blogs is about styles beauty health true story's love poetry many more )): my blog my own thoughts) monakhaan.com

420 ways to reach the sun

let the conversation begin.

Quill & Parchment

I Solemnly Swear I Am Up To No Good

CrazyRedders.com

CrazyRedders

Ricardo Sexton

.Welcome to my Metaphors.

Mr. Bill's Travel Blog

Amputee Travel... let the adventures begin!

simple Ula

I want to be rich. Rich in love, rich in health, rich in laughter, rich in adventure and rich in knowledge. You?

dontgiveajamdotcom.wordpress.com/

a word girl w/a lifestyle blog | new posts M • W • F

Let's get talking

about.just.anything

Dee Gratitude

"Everything Will Be All Righ..."

Alif Satria

GOOD LIFE OR BAD LIFE IS YOUR CHOICE

Education Rickshaw

International Teaching in Motion

Urban Poetry

She's an Urban Pen spilling ink in inspiration and words.. A Digital Art & Poetry Wordpress By Linda J. Wolff

Kuddos and Kiddos

Taking SAHM life, one day at a time.

Little Fears

Tales of whimsy, humour and courgettes

natureplayhk.wordpress.com/

We connect your child with nature

Life with Tranquility...!

Live Life with Tranquility of Life...!

Rooting for Forever

You found parts of me I didn't know existed and in you I found a love I no longer believed was real

Rules of Knowledge

Purveyor of Ideas

