4 out of 5 dentists recommend this WordPress.com site

Paul Davis, upon my request, issued me a challenge. I am to write, as he put it, a sort of blog philosophy. I am to write about what message I am hoping to convey with my blog, the whole point of blogs, and how I feel people ought to use them. Well, Paul…I accept the challenge.

First, what is my intended message that I wish to convey to those who happen to stumble across my blog? Well, this all started because my friend Courtney suggested I start a blog to share my life experiences with others because she thinks I can inspire others, give them hope and courage to get through their own struggles. I thought that sounded like a pretty good idea. No longer does my past hinder me, instead I let it teach me, help me grow, and inspire others to push through their own struggles.

My life has been quite the ride thus far, full of lots of joy, laughter, hope, and love….but also full of lots of pain, heartache, abuse, confusion, and anger. For a long time, I let my past hold me back. I beat myself up over my countless mistakes and wondered what the point of trying succeed and have a good life was. I was just doomed to fail in the end, as I seemed to always do. I was definitely one of my worst enemies. I let other’s judgments hold me back. I gave them control when it was never theirs to have.

I was ignored and emotionally abused by my mother, sexually abused by her boyfriend, made a ward of the state, emotionally abused by my father, made fun of in school, used/lied to/cheated on by guys, taken advantage of by so called friends, sat in jail for fines I never paid off when I should have, and so on. I also hurt a lot of people in the wake of all of this. Confused and hurt, I tore myself and others down. I lied, cheated, and stole to get what I thought I wanted. I wanted to be loved and accepted, though I never even accepted myself.

I have grown up a lot, especially in the last year. Dealing with cleaning and gutting my grandma’s house and now taking care of her has really made me mature. I see and read about so many people who have struggled and many who currently do with overcoming their past. I once thought I was a lost cause, but now I know that’s not the case and I know it’s not the case for anyone else. When Courtney made the suggestion to start a blog to tell my story, share my adventures with others, a light went on inside my head. If I can help even one person through a rough time, it’s worth it. I am to be a beacon for others, to show love and compassion, to help, to be a friend. So, that’s it…my long winded answer to what message I want my blog to give: hope.

What is the point of blogs? My opinion is this, it varies. Thousands upon thousands of people blog, all over the world, in many languages, and speak about many different things. Some don’t even speak, they just share photos. In the end though, I suppose there is one main thing that ties us together. We’re all here to share of ourselves. Whether it’s a music video, a piece of art, a book review, poetry, bible verses, venting about a rough day, telling jokes, guess that photo game, etc etc….it’s all a glimpse into the personality of the poster. Whether they intend for people to read their blog or not, they know it’s on the internet and so the possibility is there for people to see it, and start to follow it. We share a piece of ourselves each time we post anything. We open ourselves up to criticism, praise, debate, and so on. The point of blogging is to share and to connect with others. If you wish it to be strictly private, you’d make it so no one could read it…keep a journal if you will. To be online and have it open to the public means you’re willingly sharing of yourself. So yeah, that’s my opinion…we blog to share.

How should a blog be used? Well, I feel it should be used in a positive manner. One should not blog to tear others down, to make a fool out of others where millions of people can see it, and should not be used unlawfully. What is posted is up to the blogger, but hopefully they use common sense and have a sense of decency when they share. Attacking others verbally, in my eyes, is abuse and it’s wrong enough outside the world of blogging….but then once online and millions can see it….not only can it not be taken back, but it’s public, and will leave a lasting impression on so many people. A healthy debate, fine. Many post about difficult tops like views on religion, politics, raising kids, adoption, war, etc…that’s just fine, keeping in mind that the poster is hopefully mature about it. Name calling is childish. It’s done often, people get defensive, and fight over someone’s post. I don’t feel that a blog should be used for that purpose. Take it outside people, get away from prying eyes. You really want to have a heated conversation with someone….find a way to chat privately with them. It’s so awkward to read a post and then see the arguing underneath. The poster probably knew there was a chance that would happen, but the ones starting the fight are no less to blame. It is not my right to tell people how to behave, online or off, but I was given the challenge to express my views. I view blog sites as a place to share, connect, network, and make friends….not fight and make enemies. I know no one agrees with anyone all of the time and to have a healthy debate is great, I just wish there was less fighting and immaturity. Sometimes it’s like being in school all over again, seeing the big fight on the playground. Some are egging them on, some ran and hid, some just passively watched, some placed bets, and others managed to ignore the whole thing. While I feel it is good to keep a part of our childhood alive and be youthful from time to time, some parts of it should be left on the proverbial playground. 😉 With all of that said: Share, laugh, debate, blog on…

Comments on: "Challenge accepted: A sort of blog philosophy" (10)

  1. I agree. Facebook as well. There is a place for dirty laundry and it is in the washing machine. Great post.

    Like

    • ramblingsofabipolarwoman said:

      Yeah, Facebook can be pretty bad too. :/ And I love your comment. 😉 Thank you for your feedback! ❤

      Like

  2. I have to admit to being guilty of some of those crimes. I’ve posted in order to goad people, especially when younger. Oh man did I tick off one guy. Good times. Lately I may be airing more than I mean to, so now I’m all self aware. Generally I like using it to reflect my own state, though, no matter how personal.

    So what happens next? Do I have to do this on my blog? Do you give me a different challenge?

    Like

    • ramblingsofabipolarwoman said:

      That is up to you, I suppose. Would you like me to give you a different challenge? I am okay with whatever you decide. 🙂

      Like

      • Hey now, you proposed the duel. I just started it. I’m up for anything.

        Like

      • ramblingsofabipolarwoman said:

        Perhaps talk about your younger days when you would goad people, why you did it, and how and why things have changed, why you write differently now. 🙂

        Like

  3. Interesting responses to this post – I believe in the cautious line that is often blurred (I’m guilty of a bad day and a mean post) when it comes to “Facebooking” and sometimes here – but here blogging is different for me. I believe in expression but expression, like most things, should have limitations. Yet, if we limit what we want to say – do we infact form lies without honesty? The truth is sometimes harder to take when the world views it – by identifying ourselves, we’ve taken away the anonymity – therefore, it chokes our speak-ability? Does it not?

    Like

    • ramblingsofabipolarwoman said:

      There are some things I just refuse to talk about because I don’t want name calling, fighting, etc….that is not why I blog. I do agree that we should be ourselves and fully that, but we can do that without being a jerk. There is a thing called tact and respect that we can all practice, you know? 🙂 (and yes, I know about having a bad day and being mean…though on those days, I try to refrain from posting at all so I don’t get into trouble or I do, but make the audience just myself. I really do hate confrontation and arguing.)

      Like

      • I completely understand says the girl with a tsunami temper and her heart on her sleeve 🙂

        Like

      • ramblingsofabipolarwoman said:

        I am guilty of both lol, sometimes it does get so difficult to talk about something when I am so passionate about it and others disagree. I can be so calm and laid back, but then when angered, I can be a storm you don’t want to pass through…..interesting does it make for my writing when in a mood….

        Like

Leave a Reply

I Suck at Marriage

I wonder who doesn't suck at marriage on some level...

The Anonymous Writer's Notebook

Create, Share, Inspire

The Diary of a Bee

With brave wings, she flies.

18Megapixel

© Michael Soriano Photography

POETRY PASSION

AN AWESOME SOURCE OF ROMANTIC POETRY

Mona_Khaan

tha blogs is about styles beauty health true story's love poetry many more )): my blog my own thoughts) monakhaan.com

420 ways to reach the sun

let the conversation begin.

Quill & Parchment

I Solemnly Swear I Am Up To No Good

CrazyRedders.com

CrazyRedders

Ricardo Sexton

.Welcome to my Metaphors.

Mr. Bill's Travel Blog

Amputee Travel... let the adventures begin!

simple Ula

I want to be rich. Rich in love, rich in health, rich in laughter, rich in adventure and rich in knowledge. You?

Don't Give a Jam

a word girl with a lifestyle blog

Let's get talking

about.just.anything

Dee Gratitude

"Everything Will Be All Righ..."

Alif Satria

Good Life or Bad Life Is Your Choice

Education Rickshaw

Founded in the 21st Century

Urban Poetry

Where Legends Live in Words. A Digital Art & Poetry Wordpress By Linda J. Wolff

Kuddos and Kiddos

Taking SAHM life, one day at a time.

Little Fears

Flash fiction tales of humor, horror and whimsy

natureplayhk.wordpress.com/

We connect your child with nature

Life with Tranquility...!

Live Life with Tranquility of Life...!

Rooting for Forever

You found parts of me I didn't know existed and in you I found a love I no longer believed was real

Rules of Knowledge

Purveyor of Ideas

All Things Steph

Love, Life, and everything in between.

Phantasmagoria

whispers in a nineteen year old mind

yourfriendlycarguy.wordpress.com/

Buying cars is simple. My job is to make it fun for you!

Consolation's Many Forms

The Everything in the Everyday

me&mi music

As for ME & MI MUSIC.... We're on the way up!

Tangible Triumph

Motivation, Inspiration, Life

Joshi Daniel Photography

Images of People Photoblog

Everlasting Smile Wisdom

Be the reason for million smiles but never be a reason for even a single grudge

