4 out of 5 dentists recommend this WordPress.com site

Image

This is a picture of my son and I, taken this past summer. The Z is not an L, I swear to it! πŸ˜‰ The treble clef was done first when I was 22 years old, in the summer of 2001. I had it colored later that same summer. The ink used faded quickly, but I wasn’t able to get it touched up until March of 2008. When I had it redone, I also had my son’s name added to it. I figured I’d put two of my greatest loves together, my son and music. I have been singing since I was a small child, also used to play violin, cello, flute, and piano as a kid/teen. I never got to be great at playing any of the instruments, but that was because I was never dedicated enough to stick with them. The flute was the one I excelled most at and the one I spent the least time with. Perhaps I should play again? My son’s name is the only man’s name I will EVER get inked on my body. I could be married for 30 years and still wouldn’t do it, just doesn’t sound like a good idea. I love Doug with all of my heart, really think he’s the one I will marry. He is my boyfriend, but more importantly, my best friend. Still, I don’t desire to ink his name on my skin. He and I are in agreement, there are other ways to prove our love and devotion. I don’t know, the only way I’d consider it is if we were married those 30 or more years and he died, then maybe in memorial to him I might put something there to honor him. But, no, thus far I am just fine with having my son’s name on my arm. My son is my son now and always, no matter what happens and as he is my first priority and greatest joy, I feel no shame in having his name there. My son can drive me absolutely batty, bring me to the brink of insanity, but he is my greatest love now and always. He is so intelligent, charismatic, witty, talented, and when he chooses to show it…has a heart of gold. I am so proud of my son, it brings me to tears often. I love you, Zachariah!

Image

This is the first tattoo I ever got, done in November of 2000. I was turning 22 the following month. It has been my motto for a very long time: Peace, Love, & Harmony. Peace is something I strive for. I hate fighting, confrontation, and strife. I know all of that comes with life, but I do my best to avoid it. Love is and always has been a huge part of my life. My name even happens to mean loving, how odd and very cool is that? I try so hard to show those in my life how much they mean to me and to try to be helpful and caring to even those I just meet. I was like that even before I became a Christian. That resolve is stronger now. I know I am to show the love of Christ in the way I live and the way I treat others. Love and hate are both powerful, both have the power to change minds and lives. I may be one person, but I have seen what one person can do. Also, it’s not just me out there and the more of us who side with love, the better! Harmony was chosen because of my love for music. Again, it’s a huge part of my life. Writing has been a great outlet for me and a great source of comfort, but so has music. Music has helped me through so much. It’s brought about healing, perspective, joy, pleasant memories, a positive outlet for releasing anger and stress, and so on. Also, harmony can be looked at as how I want to live, in a state of harmony. That brings me back to peace. I want to live among people in harmony, not fighting. All these years later, I still feel the same way about these words. πŸ™‚

01e3909d6a3c38ac298b90a524a49d8f200511160_full

I got this in January of 2001, will admit that I wasn’t sober when I let my friend give this tattoo to me. *chuckles a little now at my impulsiveness.* Everyone in their immediate family has this tattoo, but the reasoning behind it for me is different. I got it to symbolize my faith so that everyone could see it. It’s crooked and not great quality, but what it stands for means a lot to me. Anyone who knows me well knows that being a Christian is a huge part of my life. I and others agree that this isn’t a sin, to put ink on our bodies as long as what we put there isn’t dishonoring him. I wanted a symbol of my faith upon my skin so that even when silent or passing by people on the street, they might see it. I am unashamed of my faith. Many in my life don’t agree and I respect others and do not bash their viewpoints, their feelings. I just of course ask for that same respect in return. Don’t believe in God or at least not the same one(s), that is your right, but please don’t put me down for how I feel and I won’t do that to you. πŸ™‚ (Well, even if you do put me down for it, I won’t put you down, but I am hoping you’d be mature enough to give me that same respect. *smiles*)

I don’t have a picture of my fourth one. It’s on my right shoulder blade. I need to find someone to take a picture of it at some point. Anywho, it is a butterfly. The same person who first did my treble clef did the butterfly, so needless to say it needs to be redone as well. However, I still love it because of what it symbolizes. I love nature, especially butterflies. They’re first of all quite beautiful and majestic in my opinion. Also, I think of the caterpillar and how it transforms into a butterfly. That is what many of us do throughout life, start out as the caterpillar, take some time to learn and grow, and with time transform into that butterfly who flies into the sky, soaring with her dreams in full flight. I will share a picture of this tattoo eventually, hopefully it’s redone by then, but if that’s the case, it will be awhile because getting it redone is not on the top of my list of things that need to be done. Darn being an adult and all responsible like. πŸ˜‰ Well, hope you enjoyed this little bit of insight! If you have ink, share with us your stories? πŸ™‚

Comments on: "My tattoos and my reasons behind them" (4)

  1. I love this post! πŸ™‚

    Like

  2. This is a great post.

    I have ink as well. I have a symbol for Life, Death, & Rebirth (which has additional meaning for the three phases of woman as Maiden, Mother, & Crone, as well as Love, Loyalty, & Friendship), an Infinity Symbol, a Scorpio glyph, and the 8th letter of the Hebrew Alphabet.

    They all mean something and tell a story for me. Mine aren’t very big, I got all four of them in one shot, and they’re easily hidden if I don’t want to “flash my ink”, though due to the placement, I don’t even think about who can see it or not. It’s not like it’s a negative thing. I have plans to add to them and I want to have the Infinity symbol colored in again.

    I love the script for your son’s name. I also agree with you wholeheartedly about names on our bodies. Unless it is my child (or children) or someone who is no longer with us, I don’t think it needs to be done like that. I’d rather honor someone I love with a piece of jewelry around my neck, or a personalized bracelet or ring, than a tattoo. I almost got a tattoo in honor of my Mom after she passed away, but I kept hearing her say “Does that have to be there? Can’t you just get a nice piece of jewelry with the same symbol instead?” So I did. LOL. I also managed to get a pillow with the same design, which is pretty cool. It would have made an awesome tattoo, but if you have even a tiny doubt, you shouldn’t be doing it. It took me forever to get what I did, and thankfully I don’t do anything impulsively because my life changed drastically from the original ideas I had to what I ended up getting. I think it’s important to think things of that nature out thoroughly, unless you know you truly want them there.

    Like

    • ramblingsofabipolarwoman said:

      I agree that if there is any doubt on getting the ink that one shouldn’t do it. You should know 100% that you want to have it and that you won’t regret it down the line. πŸ™‚ ❀

      Like

Leave a Reply

o l i t a

place of all things lovely, by ola masalska

Kirsten Hartman

Fashion, Beauty, Lifestyle

Finding Beauty Middle East

Beauty - Lifestyle - Dining

RyanPhotography

..... Images by Bren and Ashley Ryan

Evelina

by Evelina Di Lauro

Messy Mapmaker

Searching Through the Pile of To-Do Lists to See What's Coming Next

Sunshine

Courage In Living

paperlanternsinpapertown

Heart only speaks when mind shut down πŸ’˜πŸ’˜πŸ’˜πŸ˜ŠπŸ˜ŠπŸ˜Š

Hello Foxy

A Lifestyle Blog For Badass Babes

TheKushOfficial

Thoughts Explorer

Pocketful of Smiles

Lifestyle Blog

Aching and Hold on Tight

I dont know how to do this

Sketch.urself

U dont have to be a good artist to sketch urselfπŸ˜‰βœŒ

Moosmosis

Exploring an Arts & Sciences Education

Diary of a Little Peach

Parenting tips, product reviews, recipes, stories, and more.

Cooking with a Wallflower

Cooking. Baking. Crafting. Writing.

ANIKET SHARMA PHOTOGRAPHY

World through my lens

D-pad Joy

PS4, XBO, Switch, PC and Mobile news, reviews, indie games and developers

bipolarbree1

It's Okay, not to be Okay!

Life, Love, Poetry, & Other Randomness

4 out of 5 dentists recommend this WordPress.com site

The Diary Of A Muslim Girl

Dare β—¦ To β—¦ Live β—¦ Your β—¦ Legacy

Anish Oza

Writes

I Suck at Marriage

I wonder who doesn't suck at marriage on some level...

The Anonymous Writer's Notebook

Create, Share, Inspire

The Diary of a Bee

Your wandering diary.

18Megapixel

Β© Michael Soriano Photography

POETRY PASSION

A PLACE FOR PROFESSIONAL & PASSIONATE POETS

MonaKhaan

tha blogs is about styles beauty health true story's love poetry many more )): my blog my own thoughts) monakhaan.com

420 ways to reach the sun

let the conversation begin.

Quill & Parchment

I Solemnly Swear I Am Up To No Good

CrazyRedders.com

CrazyRedders

