4 out of 5 dentists recommend this WordPress.com site

My Reflection

Image

Who is this staring at me?

I don’t recognize the face I see

Time has changed so much

The way I smile, laugh, and touch

 

Deep within, I’m still the same

My faith, my heart, my name

One’s core can remain in tact

So much else changes, that’s a fact

 

My nature has always been to love

That was instilled in my soul from above

The way that I show it now has grown

In ways that are well known

 

When I forget who I am inside

And stress leaves me feeling a little fried

I find my way back by quieting my mind

Slowing my thoughts so that I can unwind

 

I then turn to You

You help me through

Each storm that within me rages

Each hurdle I face, You see me through in stages

 

I must grow, must learn

If the rain didn’t soak me, if the fire didn’t burn

I’d remain a child in an adult’s skin

Trials I had to face so that the growing could begin

 

Mistakes were made and sorrows known

But through them, I have flown

Stronger, kinder, and wiser am I

And this will continue to happen by and by

 

I believe that the day I am done growing

Is the day that I am done living

As my reflection changes from day to day

May I still see the core of who I am, I pray

 

No matter how I change throughout the years

May I never let win my sorrows, doubts, or fears

Instead let hope, faith, joy, and love win out

The way of light and laughter is my route

 

I grab my reflection’s hand

We skip through time across the sand

Making the most of life

Pushing past all hurt and strife

 

Loving those who are here while I have the chance

Taking a chance too on my dreams, desires, and romance

As my reflection learns, she grows

That’s just how the story goes

 

Life comes and eventually it fades away

But that doesn’t mean it can’t somehow stay

So I choose to let my legacy live on

To not be forgotten even well after my time here is gone

 

One day you won’t see my face

I will have gone to a better place

My final reflection, what will she look like to you?

I hope that it will be one that you find to be loving and true.

Comments on: "My Reflection" (7)

  1. prayingforoneday said:

    Awwwwww how cute…
    I am going to do one..
    You will laugh.
    Give me 10..lol

    x

    Like

  2. Great post! Your son is so handsome, can’t believe our kids are just barely months apart. Ian’s birthday is August 3, 2002. Thanks for sharing your pictures and stories!

    Like

    • ramblingsofabipolarwoman said:

      Thank you!!!!! πŸ™‚ He is quite the cutie indeed!!! Wow, a little over three months apart, eh? Insane!!!! I bet you’re as proud of Ian as I am of Zach! πŸ™‚ And hey, thank you for sharing your pictures and stories, daily. πŸ˜‰

      Like

  3. Lovely concept and imagery in this wholesome introspection on personal advancement and the Freudian questions of id, ego and super-ego. In my humble opinion the one drawback is its length. The poets of old (mostly) wrote to form – there was a fixed outline and schema for a sonnet, a terza rima, a villanelle etc. The reason for this was in reducing words and concepts to fit, one’s best and finest effort had to be whittled down to its essence. Poets were literally forced to give their best. We don’t use these forms very much these days but I believe that writing them for practice improves my poetry in general – and even produces an accidental success occasionally. Try it as an exercise or for fun when you have time. Best wishes – Mike

    Like

    • ramblingsofabipolarwoman said:

      I have never liked writing short poems, it’s just not my style. πŸ˜‰ But thank you for the feedback, Mike! I am glad that other than it’s length, you enjoyed it!

      Like

Leave a Reply

Moosmosis

Exploring an Arts & Sciences Education

Diary of a Little Peach

Parenting tips, product reviews, recipes, stories, and more.

Cooking with a Wallflower

Cooking. Baking. Crafting. Writing.

ANIKET SHARMA PHOTOGRAPHY

World through my lens

D-pad Joy

PS4, XBO, Switch and PC news, reviews, indie games and developers

bipolarbree1

My life with Bipolar, anxiety, and addictions

Life, Love, Poetry, & Other Randomness

4 out of 5 dentists recommend this WordPress.com site

The Diary Of A Muslim Girl

Dare β—¦ To β—¦ Live β—¦ Your β—¦ Legacy

Anish Oza

Writes

I Suck at Marriage

I wonder who doesn't suck at marriage on some level...

The Anonymous Writer's Notebook

Create, Share, Inspire

The Diary of a Bee

With brave wings, she flies.

18Megapixel

Β© Michael Soriano Photography

POETRY PASSION

AN AWESOME SOURCE OF ROMANTIC POETRY

Mona_Khaan

tha blogs is about styles beauty health true story's love poetry many more )): my blog my own thoughts) monakhaan.com

420 ways to reach the sun

let the conversation begin.

Quill & Parchment

I Solemnly Swear I Am Up To No Good

CrazyRedders.com

CrazyRedders

Ricardo Sexton

.Welcome to my Metaphors.

Mr. Bill's Travel Blog

Amputee Travel... let the adventures begin!

simple Ula

I want to be rich. Rich in love, rich in health, rich in laughter, rich in adventure and rich in knowledge. You?

dontgiveajamdotcom.wordpress.com/

a word girl w/ a lifestyle blog | new posts M β€’ W β€’ F

Let's get talking

about.just.anything

Dee Gratitude

"Everything Will Be All Righ..."

Alif Satria

GOOD LIFE OR BAD LIFE IS YOUR CHOICE

Education Rickshaw

International Teaching in Motion

Urban Poetry

She's an Urban Pen spilling ink in inspiration and words.. A Digital Art & Poetry Wordpress By Linda J. Wolff

Kuddos and Kiddos

Taking SAHM life, one day at a time.

Little Fears

Tales of whimsy, humour and courgettes

natureplayhk.wordpress.com/

We connect your child with nature

Life with Tranquility...!

Live Life with Tranquility of Life...!

Rooting for Forever

You found parts of me I didn't know existed and in you I found a love I no longer believed was real

Rules of Knowledge

Purveyor of Ideas

