4 out of 5 dentists recommend this WordPress.com site

First, yes I am a Christian. My faith means a lot to me. It has gotten me through so much. He has given me so much to be grateful for, much more than I deserve. I will never hide my faith from the world. Nor will I try to thump one over the head with my bible and condemn them either.

And therein lies my whole point to this blog. I was again inspired by another’s blog today. It really got me thinking about the church today, the way so many so called Christians act. I myself have turned away from organized religion more than once because of being judged, being shunned for being less than they desired me to be. The last I checked, as Christians, we are called to love one another as Christ loves us. We are NOT called to sit in judgment, NOT called to look down upon one another. Also, Christ himself befriended thieves, liars, adulterers, etc because that is what He and all of us are called to do, show God’s love. How are we to show them the way if we hold our noses in the air passing judgement?

And since when is it supposed to be a contest at church as to who wears what, drives what, who’s kids do the best in school/sports/music, who has what job, etc? I remember a sermon given at a church I was a member of that spoke of where our hearts are when we’re at church. Are we there focused on God, there to praise Him, worship Him, fellowship with friends and family? Or are we more focused on everyone around us and comparing themselves to everyone else? The pastor said, “I’d rather you show up in jeans and tee-shirt with your heart set on God than all dressed up and focused on worldly things.” To a point, I understand wanting to please God and some feel it is only proper to dress up in church. But, it’s gone too far now. It’s become a glorified fashion contest in so many places of so called worship.

I liked the church I’d most recently been going to. There, even the pastor wears jeans and a nice shirt. The small congregation dresses as they feel comfortable, most wearing jeans themselves. It’s relaxed and the atmosphere there is way different than what I have experienced in so many other churches. I also like that while the pastor has a set sermon, he also allows the congregation to participate. The hearts have been on fire for God, more focused on outreaches, helping one another, being beacons for Christ. There are so many good and kind people that love God more than themselves. It’s just saddening to see so many profess to love Him and then come off as cold and harsh. This attitude turns people away from God, not bring them closer.

Judge not for none have that right. We all sit in houses made of glass. At any moment, the stones can come flying in. It’s so easy to look down upon another for a mistake they’ve made, for a choice they’re making. How easy it is to think, “Ugh, how can he do that?” or “Doesn’t she know what that outfit makes her look like?” Thoughts like that are where it begins. We don’t have to like another’s choices, but they’re not ours to judge. We all make bad decisions, mistakes. It’s a part of being human and I believe we’re all called to look past them and reach out to one another in love, not disgust.

Comments on: "Upon their throne, the unholy sit" (10)

  1. You make some very valid points when you point to this ‘unchristian’ behavior and it is indeed remarkable that it persists in such an egalitarian religion. I can attest that this problem is worldwide and I can offer no solutions except that church authorities should address it directly. Good article.

    Like

    • ramblingsofabipolarwoman said:

      Thank you. I pray the changes are made, but whether they are or not, that will not change how I treat others. I know what God has called me to do and I will do it, no matter how many are with me.

      Like

  2. I hear you….been I’m on my mind a lot as well

    Like

    • ramblingsofabipolarwoman said:

      Saddening, isn’t it? Well, have to keep praying for change and continuing to be what God calls us to be, those beacons for everyone….not excluding any just because someone might think they’re “not good enough” because in truth, we’re all not good enough, but God chose to love us….

      Like

  3. I really enjoyed reading this! Tolerance is a topic that has been in the forefront of my mind the last few days & reading this just fortified it’s position there. This country & this world are desperately in need of this level of tolerance. Religion seems to be causing more division than unity these days & this problem must be addressed because divided we fall! Thanks Carissa! Have a great day!

    Like

    • ramblingsofabipolarwoman said:

      Exactly!!!! Divided we fall!!!! I really do hope that we can, as a country find unity once more. I also hope that within Christianity that we can take a good hard look at the book we’re supposed to live by and really start doing this, come together, reach out to others in love. I will keep praying and doing my best by continuing to do just that, reach out to others in love. There is hope as long as some of us who do this still remain! I hope you have a great day as well!

      Like

  4. Rev. Eddie Tatro said:

    I agree with you in every aspect! I’m a Bishop in my church, and I teach very similar to the way that your pastor is teaching. I encourage the parish to participate in the Homily which most of my priests and deacons are just now getting used to because it is new to the Canonical-Anglican Style of Worship but it is being embraced tightly by everyone including most of the clergy.

    I’m posting our denomination’s Mission Statement and Statement of Faith not to boast but to show that there are church’s out there that do follow the thinking that hey Jesus did eat with Leapers, Tax Collectors, Prostitutes, those that did not meet the status quo of the day, but hey the healthy don’t need a doctor do they? 😉 (Note Bene: when the word “Catholic” appears please do not confuse us with the Roman Catholic Church, we are a break away of the Anglican Church or Church of England; we broke away from the Church of England and the U.S. Episcopal Church in 2002.)

    The mission of The Canonical Anglican Church is to spread the teachings of the Gospel of our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ; to adhere to Christ’s commandments of loving God and neighbor. The mission of this Church is so to present Jesus Christ in the power of the Holy Spirit that people everywhere will come to know Him as Lord and serve Him as King in the fellowship of the Church. The chief agents of this mission to extend the Kingdom of God are the people of God.

    Our mission is to show that all were welcomed at Christ’s Table and Teachings, and that we are understanding, loving and tolerant of those whose values and morals are different than the status quo.

    We hope to take a positive role in the communities in which our churches are; especially in the areas with troubled adolescents, the poor, sick, shut-ins, and the homeless. The work of the church is to equip each member of the church so that they may reconcile the world to Christ, plant new congregations, and make disciples of all nations; baptizing them in the Name of the Father, and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit, and teaching them to obey everything commanded by Jesus Christ.
    .
    As The Canonical Anglican Church, being a part of the One Holy Catholic and Apostolic Church of Christ, we believe and confess Jesus Christ to be the Way, the Truth, and the Life: no one comes to the Father but by Him. Therefore, we identify the following elements as characteristic of the Catholic Way, and essential for membership:
    1. We confess the canonical books of the Old and New Testaments to be the inspired Word of God, containing all things necessary for salvation, and to be the final authority and unchangeable standard for Christian faith and life, as we understand them to be translated correctly and truthfully.
    2. We confess Baptism and the Holy Supper of the Lord to be Sacraments ordained by Christ Himself in the Gospel, and thus to be ministered with unfailing use of His words of institution and of the elements ordained by Him.
    3. We confess the godly historic Episcopate as an inherent part of the apostolic faith and practice, and therefore as integral to the fullness and unity of the Body of Christ.
    4. We confess as proved by most certain warrants of Holy Scripture the historic faith of the undivided church as declared in the three Catholic Creeds: the Apostles’, the Nicene, and the Athanasian.
    5. We confess the Blood Atonement of the Lamb on Calvary’s Hill for our Sins.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Hello Foxy

A Lifestyle Blog For Badass Babes

TheKushOfficial

Thoughts Explorer

Pocketful of Smiles

Lifestyle Blog

Aching and Hold on Tight

I dont know how to do this

Sketch.urself

U dont have to be a good artist to sketch urself😉✌

Moosmosis

Exploring an Arts & Sciences Education

Diary of a Little Peach

Parenting tips, product reviews, recipes, stories, and more.

Cooking with a Wallflower

Cooking. Baking. Crafting. Writing.

ANIKET SHARMA PHOTOGRAPHY

World through my lens

D-pad Joy

PS4, XBO, Switch and PC news, reviews, indie games and developers

bipolarbree1

My life with Bipolar, anxiety, and addictions

Life, Love, Poetry, & Other Randomness

4 out of 5 dentists recommend this WordPress.com site

The Diary Of A Muslim Girl

Dare ◦ To ◦ Live ◦ Your ◦ Legacy

Anish Oza

Writes

I Suck at Marriage

I wonder who doesn't suck at marriage on some level...

The Anonymous Writer's Notebook

Create, Share, Inspire

The Diary of a Bee

With brave wings, she flies.

18Megapixel

© Michael Soriano Photography

POETRY PASSION

A PLACE OF PASSIONATE POETS & THEIR POETRIES

Mona_Khaan

tha blogs is about styles beauty health true story's love poetry many more )): my blog my own thoughts) monakhaan.com

420 ways to reach the sun

let the conversation begin.

Quill & Parchment

I Solemnly Swear I Am Up To No Good

CrazyRedders.com

CrazyRedders

Ricardo Sexton

.Welcome to my Metaphors.

Mr. Bill's Travel Blog

Amputee Travel... let the adventures begin!

simple Ula

I want to be rich. Rich in love, rich in health, rich in laughter, rich in adventure and rich in knowledge. You?

dontgiveajamdotcom.wordpress.com/

a word girl w/a lifestyle blog | new posts M • W • F

Let's get talking

about.just.anything

Dee Gratitude

"Everything Will Be All Righ..."

Alif Satria

GOOD LIFE OR BAD LIFE IS YOUR CHOICE

Education Rickshaw

International Teaching in Motion

