4 out of 5 dentists recommend this WordPress.com site

Think Spring

Image

The winter blues are getting to a lot of people around here. Last winter was fairly mild compared to this one. This season, there has been more snow, more ice, and colder temperatures. So between the icky weather, staying in more because of it, and whatnot….it’s led to a lot of depression for many people, including me from time to time. Winter is always the hardest on me, dealing with bi-polar is even more of a pain at this time. I do my best to find ways to stay positive, smile, laugh, and see those I love as often as I can. I hate the cold and the snow, but I can’t hibernate like some of the animals can and nor would I want to because then I’d get cabin fever as it were and the depression would grow, then making me more irritable.

So, getting through this rough winter, I have found a few specific things that have helped me stay more positive than in years past. One is this right here, blogging on WordPress. It has filled me with so much joy, especially the last few months because now I am really connecting with people, talking, getting to know some of you. Reading your blogs inspire me, have inspired some of what I have written. For that, thank you and keep blogging!!! And, thank you for supporting me, for encouraging me, for being awesome in general. 🙂 Being able to write about my life, my feelings, my dreams, etc and share with you all is a blessing. Being able to nurture my creative side is huge, especially when now is when I’d so often have writer’s block. Thank you for being a part of my journey and enlightening me along the way.

Another thing that has helped me this winter has been bowling in two leagues, staying active and having fun while doing so. I am not great, my average is roughly 110 in both, but I have fun and that is the most important thing. I get out of the house, get to see friends, get to make new friends, and get to relax and have fun. It’s amazing! Both leagues, I bowl with my boyfriend, but they are different from one another. Our Tuesday league is him, his dad, and I with a vacancy spot since we weren’t able to find a fourth player. There are only six teams, but it’s nice, faces don’t just blend in and we have gotten to really know the people we bowl against. I am captain, great fun!

On our every other Sunday league, I am captain there too, but also the league secretary. I love that because I get to deal with numbers, money, organization, etc. It’s nine teams, with a blind team that someone has to bowl every week. That team, I bowl with Doug and our friends Joe and Laura. The atmosphere is a little different, a little more competitive, but still fun is had. We know we’re not pro’s and just try to have fun. Like I said, it’s been a huge help!

Another thing is just spending a lot of time with Doug. He helps me stay positive. When I am in a funk, he’s supportive and it’s so much easier to get out of those times when he’s near. He’s been a rock and I am forever grateful to him. We see each other four to six days a week and yet we’re not tired of one another. We bowl, I make dinner for him, we hang out with my son, we go to concerts, we watch movies, we go support our friend’s karaoke shows…I sing, he listens lol and we’ll play pool too, we make time for just us. We laugh like little kids, tell silly jokes, and just enjoy one another’s company. We make plans for the future, for what we’ll do when it warms up, like taking a weekend and going to Devil’s Lake and Wisconsin Dells. We also have bands we want to see like the Halestorm and Bullet For My Valentine show in May. We’re going to Opening Day for the Brewers, as my birthday gift to him and have lots of plans to see them over the baseball season. It’s all so wonderful, exciting! I have never before experienced a relationship like this, one where we spend real time together, make plans, talk about living together and seeing the plans for it begin to unfold…not just empty promises, laughing, true care for one another, not just being lovers, but also being best friends. This is my soul mate, no doubts. He has helped me so much through a lot, definitely make it through winter thus far with a smile on my face.

Prayer has helped, tremendously. God is so good, has paved the way for a lot of good to come my way and I am forever grateful. I am also grateful for the struggles because they have shaped me, helped me grow into who I am now, as will future struggles help me become who I am going to be, always growing, learning, changing, evolving. He has taught me some painful lessons, but I wouldn’t change a thing. He has sent some amazing people into my life, my great boyfriend, my wonderful friends, helped some of my family and I bond closer together, helps my son and I stay connected, and hey…through a friend, He led me here to write alongside you guys and dolls! Again, I am truly honored and blessed for this opportunity. 🙂

And hey, THINK SPRING! Sometimes envisioning the flowers blooming, everything around me becoming green and lush once more, seeing the animals scurry, and hearing the sounds of life again helps me. Winter has its purpose. I live in an area where we see all four seasons and you know, I am grateful for that. It is truly spectacular to watch the world around me change. I am not the fondest of winter, but I know it has its place. It gives the world around me a chance to rest, to gather strength so that when spring is ready to appear once more, the world will be ready. I will admit though, knowing it’s coming, that spring will be here soon enough excites me! I can hardly wait to go outside in shorts and tank top, walk, rollerblade, camp, watch baseball, go to the park with my son and have picnics, and so on. Thinking about this makes me smile. I know it’s coming and so I can’t despair too much. So yeah, I “Think Spring” and it helps me get through the cold days and even colder nights.

What do you do during winter? Do you have tips? Perhaps you are a snow bird and like to ski, snowmobile, snowboard, ice skate, play ice hockey, ice fish, go sledding, etc. Maybe you read a lot more or have dinner parties? We all have our ways to get through, some barely managing, but we manage. I hope that winter hasn’t been too harsh on you guys and dolls and just remember, THINK SPRING!

Comments on: "Think Spring" (2)

  1. Rev. Eddie Tatro said:

    Amen! Prayer is a very powerful tool! As is also laughter! I wish I could bowl again with my fibromyalgia and spinal stenosis I have a hard time just standing in the correct posture for bowling. I used to love it!

    Like

    • ramblingsofabipolarwoman said:

      Awww, sorry to hear you can’t bowl anymore. ;/ But, we can always pray and laugh! There are always ways to enjoy life! 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

Moosmosis

Exploring an Arts & Sciences Education

Diary of a Little Peach

Parenting tips, product reviews, recipes, stories, and more.

Cooking with a Wallflower

Cooking. Baking. Crafting. Writing.

ANIKET SHARMA PHOTOGRAPHY

World through my lens

D-pad Joy

PS4, XBO, Switch and PC news, reviews, indie games and developers

bipolarbree1

My life with Bipolar, anxiety, and addictions

Life, Love, Poetry, & Other Randomness

4 out of 5 dentists recommend this WordPress.com site

The Diary Of A Muslim Girl

Dare ◦ To ◦ Live ◦ Your ◦ Legacy

Anish Oza

Writes

I Suck at Marriage

I wonder who doesn't suck at marriage on some level...

The Anonymous Writer's Notebook

Create, Share, Inspire

The Diary of a Bee

With brave wings, she flies.

18Megapixel

© Michael Soriano Photography

POETRY PASSION

AN AWESOME SOURCE OF ROMANTIC POETRY

Mona_Khaan

tha blogs is about styles beauty health true story's love poetry many more )): my blog my own thoughts) monakhaan.com

420 ways to reach the sun

let the conversation begin.

Quill & Parchment

I Solemnly Swear I Am Up To No Good

CrazyRedders.com

CrazyRedders

Ricardo Sexton

.Welcome to my Metaphors.

Mr. Bill's Travel Blog

Amputee Travel... let the adventures begin!

simple Ula

I want to be rich. Rich in love, rich in health, rich in laughter, rich in adventure and rich in knowledge. You?

dontgiveajamdotcom.wordpress.com/

a word girl w/a lifestyle blog | new posts M • W • F

Let's get talking

about.just.anything

Dee Gratitude

"Everything Will Be All Righ..."

Alif Satria

GOOD LIFE OR BAD LIFE IS YOUR CHOICE

Education Rickshaw

International Teaching in Motion

Urban Poetry

She's an Urban Pen spilling ink in inspiration and words.. A Digital Art & Poetry Wordpress By Linda J. Wolff

Kuddos and Kiddos

Taking SAHM life, one day at a time.

Little Fears

Tales of whimsy, humour and courgettes

natureplayhk.wordpress.com/

We connect your child with nature

Life with Tranquility...!

Live Life with Tranquility of Life...!

Rooting for Forever

You found parts of me I didn't know existed and in you I found a love I no longer believed was real

Rules of Knowledge

Purveyor of Ideas

