4 out of 5 dentists recommend this WordPress.com site

I am Tinkerbell!

Image

 

I read a blog about having Peter Pan Syndrome and I replied to it, as I did, I decided to write my own blog about this, give my own spin to it. Fellow feisty fairies and lost boys, read on!!!

As is true of most things in life, we ought to have a balance, to be able to find the happy medium. So many of us tend to be on one end of the extreme or the other. How does one hold onto a part of their youth and still grow up? 

I think that if one is too serious, it drains them of joy and the ability to truly enjoy life. You become too consumed with paying bills, meeting deadlines, pleasing people, and so on. One must not forget to laugh, tell silly jokes, love, create wonderful memories, to live.

On the other hand, some are still stuck living like big children, letting others take care of them. Living in their parents basement, garage, or perhaps the room they have had since childhood, perhaps having a job….but either not enough to live on their own or just no desire to have their own place. Some don’t know tact, how to act appropriately in difficult situations, and often people are uttering under their breath, “Grow up.” when around them. One must know how to laugh and have a good time, but must also be able to take care of their own responsibilities. Bills need to be paid, children need to be taken care of, things need to be done. 

So, how does one find the balance between being a responsible adult and still allowing their inner child to surface and enjoy life? I suppose it’s different for everyone. Let me share with you a little about myself.

On one hand, I take care of my grandma. I clean the house, pay her bills, take her to doctor’s appointments, do her laundry, cook for her, help her up when she falls, etc. I also have a 10 year old son who stays with me sometimes that needs to be taken care of, needs clothes, food, etc bought for him. He needs help with homework sometimes and needs it checked to make sure it’s done. I have held jobs and am currently searching for one. While working, deadlines need to be met, tasks must be completed, and dealing with co-workers can be a chore sometimes. My life is full of a lot of grown up tasks, tasks that must be done and so they get done. I have two choices, to ignore them and end up in a whirlwind of trouble, hoping people will save me and/or face the consequences OR I “woman up” and take care of what needs to be taken care of. Of course there is also just dealing with people in general, because sometimes people do NOT make it easy to deal with life. There are times when maturity levels are at an all time low, perhaps because they’re having a bad day, been there and done that, taken my bad day out on others. Maybe they’re just immature? Maybe a lot of things, I suppose, but it doesn’t matter the reasons many times, it is what it is and you need to know how to deal with it. Sometimes I do well and sometimes that stubborn child comes around, sticking their tongue out. Balance….

So, to combat adult life and the things that must be dealt with, to better help me make it through, I have my own youthful vices. I have been watching Disney and Nickelodeon since childhood, never felt the need to stop. I love to watch shows like N.C.I.S, Bones, Criminal Minds, Law & Order, etc. I also enjoy shows in which their humor is aimed at adults, like stand up: Jeff Dunham, Dana Carvey, Robin Williams, the late George Carlin, Dennis Leary, etc. But, I also like to watch shows like Wizards of Waverly Place, The Fairly Odd Parents, Austin & Ally, etc. It depends on my mood, how I am feeling, and what I need at that moment. I think it is good to laugh, to keep a part of my youth in tact.

I also collect Tinkerbell dolls and display them, like to play with a koosh (however it’s spelled) when I am bored or just need to de-stress. Going to the park and going on the swings is fun and it reminds me of how I felt then, like I could fly. Sitting on the swings is a fun way for me to release sometimes. I like to color now and then or doodle. I am not a great artist, but it’s fun to do and so I do it. 😉 I tell silly jokes and make up silly stories sometimes, just like I did as a kid. They sound corny to many adults, but some of my closest friends laugh and get a good memory from it for they too let their inner child come play.

Some of my interests as a child are still here, but have evolved. I write, have been doing so since I was about my son’s age. Now though, my writing has evolved as I have. I have more complex ideas and more mature things to talk about, sometimes. 😉 I bowl, as I have since childhood as well, but my form is different as I grew up and learned how to properly play the game. I read and sometimes it’s a series geared at older children/teens/young adults like Harry Potter, The Secrets of the Immortal Nicholas Flamel, etc…but I also read a lot of fiction and non that is geared for adults. Again, it depends on my mood and what I need at that time. Do I need to relax? Do I need to laugh? Do I yearn to learn? Do I want to understand something or a specific event or person? Do I just want to get lost in a good fantasy tale?

I say do your best to find that happy medium. Be responsible for your actions, take charge of your life, do what needs to be done. Don’t be comfortable letting others take care of you and what you need to do, until when and if a time comes that you’re physically or mentally unable to, like in my grandma’s situation. I still give her though the freedoms I can, so she doesn’t feel too restricted, too old. I do what I must and what allowances I can make, I do.

But, still keep a part of your youth forever present. Don’t fully grow up!!! NEVER FULLY GROW UP! Never forget how to laugh like a child, to hear a silly joke and laugh for minutes on end. Never forget how to smile like a child, at the simple joys in life. Never forget how to love like a child, with such trust, such fierceness! Never forget how to live like a child, not so consumed with tomorrow and forgetting how to live today. NEVER FORGET HOW TO LIVE!!!! 

I am a mom, a caretaker of sorts, a good and caring friend who steps up when I need to, and a hard worker who does what needs to be done. But I am also Tinkerbell, full of light, passion, love, and zest for life. I will continue to dance, laugh, sing, and play my way through life as I also work hard and accomplish what needs to be accomplished. I urge you to do the same. Find your inner Tink or Peter, let them fly!!!!

 

 

Comments on: "I am Tinkerbell!" (7)

  1. What great points! I, for one, will never fully grow up. I’ve always felt like a kid in a grown up’s body. My son, also 10, still has that wonderful, uninhibited imagination. I love Tinkerbell, too, and Peter Pan was – and still is – my absolute favorite Disney movie. We just all need a little pixie dust. But you are so right, there’s got to be a balance.

    Like

    • ramblingsofabipolarwoman said:

      Balance is the key in many parts of life. Movies like Alice in Wonderland and Peter Pan remind me to use my imagination and be a kid now and then. Hook too, that while one must grow up, it’s okay to be a kid sometimes too. I love when my son and I are creative and youthful together, it’s so invigorating! It is what I think keeps me so young looking too, ha ha.

      Like

  2. ramblingsofabipolarwoman said:

    Balance is the key in many parts of life. 🙂 Movies like Alice in Wonderland and Peter Pan remind me to use my imagination and be a kid now and then. Hook too, that while one must grow up, it’s okay to be a kid sometimes too. I love when my son and I are creative and youthful together, it’s so invigorating! It is what I think keeps me so young looking too, ha ha. 😉

    Like

  3. Awwww! I LOVE this! You sound SO much like me. I learned that through the comments you’ve left on MY page (sick kids and such… lol) . I’m probably a lot older than you (46) BUT I follow the never grow up rule. I’m grown up ENOUGH, when I have to be. Like you, I LOVE Disney movies. About a week ago, I even a Disney piano book so when I get down, I can cheer myself up with Zipadeedodah! lol

    I could go on and on but I promised not to jack other peoples posts ALL the time! lol GREAT subject, good writing and terrific person, you must be!

    Like

    • ramblingsofabipolarwoman said:

      Awww, awesome, I bet it’s fun!!! Disney is such a good way to stay young!!! 🙂

      I am 34, so I don’t view you as being A LOT older than me. 😉 And, we definitely have much of the same spirit, kindred spirits we must be! 🙂

      Thank you for the kind words! I so appreciate the feedback and your support! ❤

      Like

    • ramblingsofabipolarwoman said:

      Likewise 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

I Suck at Marriage

I wonder who doesn't suck at marriage on some level...

The Anonymous Writer's Notebook

Create, Share, Inspire

The Diary of a Bee

With brave wings, she flies.

18Megapixel

© Michael Soriano Photography

POETRY PASSION

AN AWESOME SOURCE OF ROMANTIC POETRY

Mona_Khaan

tha blogs is about styles beauty health true story's love poetry many more )): my blog my own thoughts) monakhaan.com

420 ways to reach the sun

let the conversation begin.

Quill & Parchment

I Solemnly Swear I Am Up To No Good

CrazyRedders.com

CrazyRedders

Ricardo Sexton

.Welcome to my Metaphors.

Mr. Bill's Travel Blog

Amputee Travel... let the adventures begin!

simple Ula

I want to be rich. Rich in love, rich in health, rich in laughter, rich in adventure and rich in knowledge. You?

Don't Give a Jam

a word girl with a lifestyle blog

Let's get talking

about.just.anything

Dee Gratitude

"Everything Will Be All Righ..."

Alif Satria

Good Life or Bad Life Is Your Choice

Education Rickshaw

Founded in the 21st Century

Urban Poetry

Where Legends Live in Words. A Digital Art & Poetry Wordpress By Linda J. Wolff

Kuddos and Kiddos

Taking SAHM life, one day at a time.

Little Fears

Flash fiction tales of humor, horror and whimsy

natureplayhk.wordpress.com/

We connect your child with nature

Life with Tranquility...!

Live Life with Tranquility of Life...!

Rooting for Forever

You found parts of me I didn't know existed and in you I found a love I no longer believed was real

Rules of Knowledge

Purveyor of Ideas

All Things Steph

Love, Life, and everything in between.

Phantasmagoria

whispers in a nineteen year old mind

yourfriendlycarguy.wordpress.com/

Buying cars is simple. My job is to make it fun for you!

Consolation's Many Forms

The Everything in the Everyday

me&mi music

As for ME & MI MUSIC.... We're on the way up!

Tangible Triumph

Motivation, Inspiration, Life

Joshi Daniel Photography

Images of People Photoblog

Everlasting Smile Wisdom

Be the reason for million smiles but never be a reason for even a single grudge

