4 out of 5 dentists recommend this WordPress.com site

Virtual Dinner Party

Rick Mallery wrote a blog that I found fascinating and I thought perhaps I’d like to try my hand at the idea. If anyone else upon reading this wants to try, go for it and let me know so I can see who attended yours!

The rules are simple:

Throw a dinner party

– Five guests and oneself. While relatives are permitted, it will be more interesting if guests are public figures – dead or alive, speaking any language – or even fictional characters.

– In turn, tag five others to hold Virtual Parties of their own. I won’t tag anyone, but like I said, if you feel the urge to do this yourself, please do!

Menu: Look at the guest list and tell me who would have time to eat? I think we shall have a buffet so that everyone can have what they want and if they are fickle, they have a lot to choose from as their taste buds change throughout the evening.

Location: This gang could hang anywhere. In this instance, I have chosen the great city of Paris. I have always wanted to go there. We can see the Eiffel Tower from where we dine. We found a quiet place where we can eat, chat, and not be disturbed by the tourists.

My guest list shall comprise of: William Shakespeare, Audrey Hepburn, Emily Dickinson, Jewel Kilcher, and Antonio Vivaldi.

William Shakespeare

Image

The world knows him for the many works he’s written. I have always found his works fascinating and thought that perhaps it’d be great to sit down with him and discuss literature and ask him where he got the ideas for Hamlet, Romeo & Juliet, and so on. To get inside his brain would be most interesting indeed. And he and Emily could share their stories for inspiration. I think that he would see Audrey and perhaps see a muse and another sonnet would be written. He sits and absentmindedly eats at the fish in front of him, more engrossed with the conversation about art, literature, and music. He doesn’t mind sharing a few tales of his own.

Audrey Hepburn

Image

The lovely lady sits down next to William, his eyes light up when she speaks. She tells us all about her work with UNICEF, the theater, and ways that she’d like to see the world better itself. Her heart is a compassionate one, one that hurts for the many who struggle. Jewel listens intently and begins jotting down lyrics on a napkin. Vivaldi hasn’t said much, for he can’t truly understand her, though he too was entranced by her charm and beauty. Emily seems to both admire her and have a certain disliking as well, though she never voices any ill thoughts she might have towards her. Audrey has a lot to say and it is she that does a lot of talking throughout the evening. I too find myself entranced by her passion for people. She didn’t eat much, she nibbled on the salad in front of her. Emily figured she was worried about her weight, though did admire her in the little black dress she wore.

Emily Dickinson

Image

She is definitely one of the quietest of the group, though she has a lot to say with her eyes as she watches the group. Though when William turned his attention to her for part of the evening, she lit up. He’s been a major influence to her writing throughout the years. She had so much to ask him, so much she wanted to say to him. They spoke of literature for awhile and while it was intense, the rest of us simply listened. At times the mood was dark, but always intriguing. They wondered at one point if they might collaborate on a piece sometime in the future. Her plate was full of nothing but organic food, food she said should be natural, only what has been grown from the earth, not tainted by anything unnatural that could be harmful to our bodies. Listening to her talk about death, immortality, love, and humanity was most interesting and I had questions for her about her writing, which I waited to ask until her talk with William seemed to fade out. I asked them both about their ideals, the influences. Jewel was still writing on that napkin of hers, it by now was all the way unfolded and you could see the dark ink more than the white of the napkin.

Jewel Kilcher

Image

The poet, singer, and songwriter spoke to us about love, the beauty of the world, and wanting to do more to help. Her and Audrey had shared quite a bit of conversation there. She sang to us for awhile as well. It was amazing, like a little concert just for us. I asked her if I might sing a little with her and she smiled that smile of hers and started to play her guitar once more and we sang “Somewhere Over the Rainbow” from the Wizard of Oz. After the music quieted, she asked if she might have Audrey’s napkin so that she could write some more as the mood would strike as hers was already full. Audrey handed it to her, after Jewel agreed to partner with her on a philanthropy project. In between writing lyrics and talking, she did manage to eat quite a bit of the pasta that was on her plate. She figured she’d just walk it off later.

Antonio Vivaldi

Image

He was the most quiet throughout the evening, mostly just taking everything in. He admired the beauty of the ladies and the way that William could turn a phrase. For a part of the evening, he asked in his native tongue if he might play for us a little while. So while we ate and quietly talked, his violin produced such beautiful music. Earlier in the evening, he did ask if he might say grace. Whether anyone had an issue with it or not, no one argued with him. I didn’t understand a word of it, but it sounded beautiful. He ate a little bread, ciabatta I think was the closest they could get to what he was hoping to have. There was cheese, a little fruit, and with that he seemed satisfied. Listening to him speak, I imagined myself in Venice. Perhaps my next dinner party should be in Italy.

Comments on: "Virtual Dinner Party" (10)

  1. Wonderful list! I’d sure like to join that party. πŸ™‚

    Like

  2. that’s too dangerous ! Hunter Thompson, James Joyce, F Fellini, L. Wittgenstein and M. Monroe

    Like

    • ramblingsofabipolarwoman said:

      LOL, it’s my virtual reality, so I can keep it tame. πŸ˜‰ So, are you going to write about your list?

      Like

      • I just hope it’s not going to be like ‘naked lunch’ by Burroughs

        Like

      • ramblingsofabipolarwoman said:

        I haven’t read that will have to check it out! Thanks for giving me something new to read!

        Like

      • It’s more of a warning than a recommandation, but sure, try

        Like

      • ramblingsofabipolarwoman said:

        Oh I will read just about anything. I like to expand my horizons. But seriously, this was just for fun and I created the scene I wanted. There was a little tension, but no brawls. I just wanted to have fun with this.

        Like

      • that’s obvious, I only meant that my bunch of people is trouble still I’d risk it

        Like

      • ramblingsofabipolarwoman said:

        Life is full of risks, is it not? πŸ˜‰ Could be an interesting gathering to say the least!

        Like

Leave a Reply

Moosmosis

Exploring an Arts & Sciences Education

Diary of a Little Peach

Parenting tips, product reviews, recipes, stories, and more.

Cooking with a Wallflower

Cooking. Baking. Crafting. Writing.

ANIKET SHARMA PHOTOGRAPHY

World through my lens

D-pad Joy

PS4, XBO, Switch and PC news, reviews, indie games and developers

bipolarbree1

My life with Bipolar, anxiety, and addictions

Life, Love, Poetry, & Other Randomness

4 out of 5 dentists recommend this WordPress.com site

The Diary Of A Muslim Girl

Dare β—¦ To β—¦ Live β—¦ Your β—¦ Legacy

Anish Oza

Writes

I Suck at Marriage

I wonder who doesn't suck at marriage on some level...

The Anonymous Writer's Notebook

Create, Share, Inspire

The Diary of a Bee

With brave wings, she flies.

18Megapixel

Β© Michael Soriano Photography

POETRY PASSION

AN AWESOME SOURCE OF ROMANTIC POETRY

Mona_Khaan

tha blogs is about styles beauty health true story's love poetry many more )): my blog my own thoughts) monakhaan.com

420 ways to reach the sun

let the conversation begin.

Quill & Parchment

I Solemnly Swear I Am Up To No Good

CrazyRedders.com

CrazyRedders

Ricardo Sexton

.Welcome to my Metaphors.

Mr. Bill's Travel Blog

Amputee Travel... let the adventures begin!

simple Ula

I want to be rich. Rich in love, rich in health, rich in laughter, rich in adventure and rich in knowledge. You?

dontgiveajamdotcom.wordpress.com/

a word girl w/ a lifestyle blog | new posts M β€’ W β€’ F

Let's get talking

about.just.anything

Dee Gratitude

"Everything Will Be All Righ..."

Alif Satria

GOOD LIFE OR BAD LIFE IS YOUR CHOICE

Education Rickshaw

International Teaching in Motion

Urban Poetry

She's an Urban Pen spilling ink in inspiration and words.. A Digital Art & Poetry Wordpress By Linda J. Wolff

Kuddos and Kiddos

Taking SAHM life, one day at a time.

Little Fears

Tales of whimsy, humour and courgettes

natureplayhk.wordpress.com/

We connect your child with nature

Life with Tranquility...!

Live Life with Tranquility of Life...!

Rooting for Forever

You found parts of me I didn't know existed and in you I found a love I no longer believed was real

Rules of Knowledge

Purveyor of Ideas

